Little Reminders + A Sense of Peace

Today was full of beautiful little reminders.

1. I received a song lyrics e-mail from my dear friend Kristin. The lyrics reminded me that we don’t always have the answers, but in time, God will reveal more and more.

I’ll just find a comfy spot and wait it out

Time will do the talking 

(The song’s Time Will Do the Talking by Patty Griffin, by the way, and it’s actually about a break-up, but it can be applied to life in general, I think.)

2. Then, on my way to the grocery store, I was stuck in traffic and feeling tired and slightly blue. As I was sitting in a line of cars, I looked up at the sky and was struck by the beauty of the sun setting in a cloud-filled sky. I thought that God was speaking to my heart a bit. I wondered if that was His way of sending me a bit of peace. Because of the sun’s brightness, I picked up my sunglasses, and that’s when I noticed it: A tiny circle of rainbow peeking out from behind a cloud. It was barely visible without my sunglasses. I felt an overwhelming sense of gratitude. I wish I would have had my camera, but I know the rainbow wouldn’t have been visible in a picture. It was amazingly subtle, a gentle nudge and reminder of His love and presence.

I am so often captivated and filled with awe when it comes to the sky’s beauty.

3. And finally: Christy’s blog post tonight (also lyrics):

Still I notice You when change begins
And I am braced for colder winds
I will offer thanks for what has been and what’s to come
You are autumn

(Nichole Nordeman, Every Season)

Tonight, I want to offer thanks for what has been and what’s to come. Tonight, I want to hold hope and gratitude close to my heart.

Lyrics, an amazing sunset and a secret rainbow—He really knows exactly how to speak to my heart, doesn’t He?

One thought on “Little Reminders + A Sense of Peace

Leave a Reply

