Courage and Community

 

(Fresh flowers from the local fruit and vegetable market)

Lately, I’ve been wrestling with a few worries, and last night, these verses brought peace to my heart:

Psalm 34:4

“I sought the LORD, and he answered me; 
       he delivered me from all my fears.”

2 Timothy 1:7

“For God did not give us a spirit of timidity, but a spirit of power, of love and of self-discipline.”

Then, today at church, God further spoke to my heart on the issue of courage. Pastor Scotty read from John 15:

 1“I am the true vine, and my Father is the gardener. 2He cuts off every branch in me that bears no fruit, while every branch that does bear fruit he prunes so that it will be even more fruitful.3You are already clean because of the word I have spoken to you.4Remain in me, and I will remain in you. No branch can bear fruit by itself; it must remain in the vine. Neither can you bear fruit unless you remain in me.

 5“I am the vine; you are the branches. If a man remains in me and I in him, he will bear much fruit; apart from me you can do nothing. 6If anyone does not remain in me, he is like a branch that is thrown away and withers; such branches are picked up, thrown into the fire and burned. 7If you remain in me and my words remain in you, ask whatever you wish, and it will be given you.8This is to my Father’s glory, that you bear much fruit, showing yourselves to be my disciples.

It was a great reminder that I don’t have to go it alone. Even when I feel as though I don’t have the strength or courage to get through something, I can do it through Him.

Philippians 4:13

“I can do everything through Him who gives me strength.”

(Oh, and if you’re wondering, the fall fruit crisp was quite delicious. This is before I added the topping and baked it.)

I just got back from lunch and an art show with a few girls from church. My heart is full of thanks for the opportunity to connect and grow with other women. I’ve been desiring to find community for so long.

 

Leave a Reply

