I love the power of words.

 

A few days ago Christy and Luke shared their thoughts on faith and how God is working in us and changing us, a slow but beautiful process much like the changing leaves we’ve been witnessing these last few weeks.

Luke wrote:

We really can’t understand the changing process until we let Him complete His work. Christy and I really didn’t see the full beauty of God’s work until we both observed the sun hitting the tree just right … how beautiful the tree had changed in the fall season. God does this in our lives by allowing us to see His changes when He shines His light on us and we can see the beauty of God’s handiwork in each of our lives.

While reading their thoughts, I was reminded of a poem that was in a book I read and loved this summer called Here’s to Hindsight by Tara Leigh Cobble. Here’s a small piece of the poem that planted itself in my heart and mind:

We’ll raise our glasses to puzzle pieces
And the way they fit together that we never saw ’til now
Here’s to questions that meet their answers
In the bright light of hindsight,
It will all come clear somehow

And all today’s uncertainties, and all of my impatience
Will just be flecks of color
In the picture that He’s painting.

That poem spoke to my own impatience and all the uncertainties and questions I have. I love that He knows my story and will use the events of my life for good and His glory. It’s really quite incredible to be a part of that when you think about it.

On my way back from picking up lunch today, I heard two songs on the radio that often bring me to tears: I Need You to Love Me by Barlow Girl and You Never Let Go by Matt Redman.

I remember one night, just as I was beginning to truly and whole-heartedly pursue a relationship with God, I listened to I Need You to Love Me by Barlow Girl. As I listened to the words, I began to cry, overwhelmed with just how much the lyrics touched my heart.

But I need You to love me,
And I, I won’t keep my heart from You this time.
And I’ll stop this pretending that I can,
Somehow deserve what I already have

For years, I had been keeping my heart from God. It was at that point in the song that the tears began to fall. I really felt as if He was reaching out to me through the lyrics, gently showing me that it was OK to let Him in.

I, I have wasted so much time
Pushing You away from me.
I just never saw how You
could cherish me.
Cause You’re a God who has all things, 
and still You want me.

I realized that I had wasted so much time pushing God away, rather than drawing closer to Him.

Your love makes me forget what I have been.
Your love makes me see who I really am.

And as He works in my life, slowing changing me, He is revealing who I really am, which is amazing and exciting and fills me with joy and gratitude.

You Never Let Go by Matt Redman reminds me of God’s faithfulness, and every time I hear it I feel a beautiful sense of peace.

Oh no, You never let go
Through the calm and through the storm
Oh no, You never let go
In every high and every low
Oh no, You never let go
Lord, You never let go of me

I’ve recently been trying my own hand at songwriting. It’s a side of creative writing I don’t have much experience with, but I find so much joy in reading and writing. Perhaps one day I will feel brave enough to share a song or two with you here …

Leave a Reply

