Planning, Hoping, Trusting

(Warning: long post)

Happy Saturday, friends! I’ve been savoring a slow, relaxing start to my day with a Cinnamon Dolce Latte (my Starbucks signature drink) and a piece of their unbelievably  yummy cinnamon swirl coffee cake. And while  enjoying those treats, I have also been reading and writing e-mails to dear friends. What could be better?

I have to share something my friend said in her e-mail to me because it really resonated with me. We were discussing God’s provision for us and how he delights to bless us and take care of us. She wrote:

It’s just that often there are other things that must be given to us first, whether it’s patience or perseverance or faith or the fruits of the spirit. But those in and of themselves are great blessings, too! So, it’s an exciting cycle to find ourselves in the midst of.

It really was the perfect thing for me to read. It fell right in line with what I feel God’s been trying to teach me lately. In fact, at my women’s Bible study on Tuesday, one of the discussion questions was What has God revealed to you through His Word recently? The first thing that came to my mind was Taste and see that the LORD is good. In a season where I feel like I’m waiting on a variety of answers from God, he’s been reminding me to delight in being in relationship with Him and to trust Him with all of the details. He is good through all circumstances, no matter what season I’m in.

While I was thinking about that question before our study, I picked up Knowledge of the Holy, a book I’ve been slowly making my way through these last few months. It’s an amazing read—full of inspiration about who God is and how He works in our lives.

One of the chapters is about His wisdom: “All God’s acts are done in perfect wisdom, first for His own glory, and then for the highest good of the greatest number for the longest time. And all His acts are pure as they are wise, and as good as they are wise and pure. Not only could His acts not be  better done: a better way to do them could not be imagined,” writes author A.W. Tozer. So basically, He’s got everything under control. Completely under control. Even when I feel forgotten and confused and frustrated, He is in control, and He’s blessing and teaching me every step of the way.

Tozer also writes (italics mine): “Wisdom, among other things, is the ability to devise perfect ends by the most perfect means. It sees the end from the beginning, so there can be no need to guess or conjecture. Wisdom sees everything in focus, each in proper relation to all, and is thus able to work toward predestined goals with flawless precision.”

As Christians, we are called to believe in this wisdom, to have faith in it, to trust it.

To quote Tozer again: “It is vitally important that we hold the truth of God’s infinite widsom as a tenet of our creed; but this is not enough. We must by the exercise of faith and by prayer bring it into the practical world of our day-to-day experience. To believe actively that our Heavenly Father constantly spreads around us providential circumstances that work for our present good and our everlasting well-being brings to the soul a veritable benediction. Most of us go through life praying a little, planning a little, jockeying for position, hoping but never being quite certain of anything, and always secretly afraid that we will miss the way … God has charged Himself with full responsibility for our eternal happiness and stands ready to take over the management of our lives the moment we turn in faith to Him. Here is His promise: And I will bring the blind by a way that they knew not; I will lead them in paths that they have not known: I will make darkness light before them, and crooked things straight. These things will I do unto them, and not forsake them.”

It’s an incredible promise and one that can be found throughout His Word.

For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.  Then you will call upon me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you. You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart. 

If you’ve made it to the end of this very long post, thanks for staying with me and allowing me to share what God’s been teaching and revealing to me recently. I’d love to hear what He’s doing in your life.

Wishing you a happy weekend!

K

3 thoughts on “Planning, Hoping, Trusting

  1. Denise says:

    Beautiful! Your writing gives me inspiration to be a better Christian. It makes me want to trust in our Lord even more, and give Him total control of my life.

  2. steptowardtransparency says:

    That was a really great post; thanks for sharing those verses that are speaking to you lately. God is speaking a lot of similar things into my heart. Through my prayers he has been leading me to make some decisions that I couldn’t help but to question a little, but I know that if I carry out those things with full faith in both his providence and provision he will eventually show me how his wisdom concerning what I ought to do with my life is infinitely greater than mine.

    I hope you have a great rest of the weekend!

  3. Jennifer Disney says:

    Thanks for sharing. God actually has been teaching me some of the same things. And some of His blessings and provisions actually came to me through you! Hope to meet you in person some day! :) Kristin was talking about you this weekend.

Leave a Reply

