A New Beginning

Hello friends. :) I hope you’re each doing well.

Sorry it’s been a while, but life’s been busy, of course, with my moving and whatnot. I’m starting to settle into my next adventure, though. Let me give you all a little update: Right now, I’m living with my grandmother, tucked in a cozy corner of her house. I’m dreaming of what’s down the road, job hunting, praying, waiting. I’m being strong and taking heart, as I wait on the LORD to reveal what He has in store next.

It’s an interesting time for sure, and my heart is full of questions. But it’s a huge blessing to be surrounded by family again after living hours away. I’ve been enjoying LOTS of home-cooked meals and other little goodies like thick slices of Amish fruit pies (the raspberry is my favorite) from the local fruit and veggie market. The pies make a delicious dessert but an even more delicious mid-morning snack, especially when enjoyed in the soft gray tones of morning light with a good book. (And speaking of good books, have you ever read anything by Elizabeth Berg? She is a favorite of mine this summer. She writes such beautiful, true and poetic novels about ordinary lives.)

IMG_4195

Let’s see … what else … I have a little patio right outside my bedroom, so I can sit on a little wooden swing and greet the day. A few days ago, I settled on the swing with my journal, Bible and a favorite devotional, and I soaked up God’s Word and the sounds, smells and sights of a sunny summer morning. Other mornings, I’ve been awakened by the sound of rain, and I’ve listened to the steady streams against the roof and windows, counting blessings and placing my hope in Him for all of my unanswered questions.

IMG_4225

I came across a lovely blog entry here that sums up a bit of what I’m feeling.

Brin, the author of My Messy, Thrilling Life, quotes Winston Churchill in this particular entry: “Now this is not the end. It is not even the beginning of the end. But it is, perhaps, the end of the beginning.”

So, perhaps I, too, have come to the end of a beginning and am looking forward, looking ahead to what comes next in my life story that has been so carefully written by my Faithful Creator.

Brin ends her blog entry with a passage from Ecclesiastes: He hath made every thing beautiful in His time: also He hath set the world in their heart, so that no man can find out the work; that God maketh from the beginning to the end.”

4 thoughts on “A New Beginning

  1. Beth says:

    Lovely. Have been missing you. Glad to know you’re well. I’ve got Elizabeth’s A Year of Pleasures and Home Safe to keep me busy in the next few weeks.

  2. K says:

    Thank you, both! I miss you two! :) Beth: You will love A Year of Pleasures. It’s fantastic! I’m going to look for Home Safe. Right now, I’m reading her novel True to Form.

  3. Sharon says:

    Hi Katie! I can’t believe you are no longer in Cinci, but am glad to hear that you are doing well. WWf(a)C started last night and both Lily and Kim are in class with me. It is wonderful to be back with them, but we miss you!

    Sharon

Leave a Reply

