Summer Loveliness

mosaiced97e92a1dbf9bd8ace607520e425d143698e966

1. IMG_9505, 2. pound cake + blackberries., 3. Untitled, 4. Dandi, 5. paint palette, 6. Untitled, 7. wood is good, 8. My verandah!, 9. Untitled

I’ve been loving the gorgeous summer photos I’ve been discovering at Flickr. I like to close my eyes and pretend I’m right there in the photo, enjoying a delightful summer meal, eating fresh fruit, painting with light, happy colors … I’ve been snapping some summer photos of my own, looking to freeze time a bit, so I can pull the photos out when fall fades into winter, and I’m longing for long summer days and evenings, plump berries, open windows, cut grass smell and just the way it feels to be smack dab in the middle of summer.

IMG_4195

*This thick slice of Amish fruit pie is from our local market (the raspberry is my favorite). The pies make a delicious dessert but an even more delicious mid-morning snack, especially when enjoyed in the soft gray tones of morning light with a good book. (And speaking of good books, have you ever read anything by Elizabeth Berg? She is a favorite of mine this summer. She writes such beautiful, true and poetic novels about ordinary lives.)

IMG_4225

*Where I’ve been spending my mornings.

IMG_4210

*I never tire of looking at and appreciating the beauty of summer flowers.

What has captured your heart this summer?

3 thoughts on “Summer Loveliness

  1. heather says:

    Lovely post, love the porch swing. Elizabeth Berg…I think I read a book of hers, “Year of a Thousand Pleasures” I think…very good! I will have to check out other titles. Have you read any books by Maria de los Santos? Wonderful reads!

  2. K says:

    Thank you! :) And I LOVE Maria de los Santos. Her writing is very poetic, and I love the characters she creates. I’ve read “Love Walked In” and “Belong to Me.” I hope she writes a new novel soon! :)

  3. Drue Young says:

    Dear Katie:I never knew how artistic you are!!I am inspired by your site.I love photography, too, & you have taken some very interesting photos.Loved the one with grandma’s swing.As you pray & wait on our Lord for answers, you are growing, exactly what I believe He is waiting for.You have an opportunity to witness firsthand how life comes full circle.You are living with history herself…She is, so-to-speak, at the “jumping off place”, a line from “Fried Green Tomatoes” (one of my favorite movies!She is not afraid of this final stage & much is to be learned from her attitude & insightfulness.It is a blessing & a privilege to be part of her life!Every time I say goodbye, I try to remember what she said, how her voice sounded;she will stay with me always.I love you, Katie, & hope to see you soon.

Leave a Reply

