Hello, Fall.

Delighted to see you again! :)

IMG_4338

It’s fall. Apple-cider-drinking, pumpkin-cooking-and-carving, watch-the-leaves-fall, FALL.

Ah, yes. I love it more and more each and every year it seems.

IMG_4334

This fall I:

* Can’t wait to enjoy hot mugs of apple cider, preferably outside with friends or with a good book.

* Want to make this hearty fall soup, this pasta dish and these waffles (but I might adapt the recipe for pancakes instead). And maybe this bread, too. Yum. And how delicious does this cookbook look?

* Am doing lots of reading. Currently, I’m rereading Mudhouse Sabbath. You can read some thoughts I posted after I read it the first time, here.

IMG_4330

*Am loving the songs on A Fine Frenzy’s newest album.

You can listen here. (For some reason, I couldn’t get the video to embed. Sorry!)

In addition to blogging my heart’s delight in fall, I also want to share a bit about what the Lord has been teaching me the last few days. After reading this article, Matthew 7:7-11 has been on my heart and mind.

7“Ask and it will be given to you; seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you. 8For everyone who asks receives; he who seeks finds; and to him who knocks, the door will be opened.

9“Which of you, if his son asks for bread, will give him a stone? 10Or if he asks for a fish, will give him a snake? 11If you, then, though you are evil, know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your Father in heaven give good gifts to those who ask him!

In a season where I feel like I’m faced with one unanswered prayer after another, this verse is a reminder to hang tight. To keep praying and trusting that He hears my prayers and knows exactly what I need.

Today, as I was thinking about next steps and the future, Proverbs 16:9 popped into my mind and I was reminded that in my heart I plan my course, but the Lord determines my steps. I’m resting in that today.

Hope you are enjoying this beautiful September weather!

One thought on “Hello, Fall.

  1. christy says:

    love the look of the cookbook (i wonder if i can make it gluten-free?) and i love those verses. they’ve been heavy on my heart during this season of my life :) xo

Leave a Reply

