The Joy of Surrender

redleaf

Acorn

As we move deeper into October and the leaves continue to fall from the trees, I’ve been thinking and praying about surrendering. I’ve also been reading about it and even hearing about it at church. A month or so ago, I came across this article on surrendering. Then, last Sunday, I attended a new church where I immediately felt at home. At the end of the sermon, one of the questions we were asked to ponder and pray about was, “Have you ever opened your life completely to God’s direction?” Completely, meaning every area, every hope, every fear. Everything. Completely.

And the truth is I’m working on that. In fact, I work on surrendering my life daily—sometimes multiple times a day. I feel as though He keeps whispering to me, asking me to trust him with everything—even those things I’m wary and anxious to hand over.

The thought of surrendering is certainly appealing—letting go of each and every worry and doubt, trusting Him to do the ordering. I know He can and wants to do this, but believing it deep in my heart of hearts is more difficult. Worry and doubt always seem to creep in.

He’s been reassuring me with scripture, though, and I’ve been writing down each and every verse He directs me to. I’d like to share some of those verses with you here.

But seek first His kingdom and His righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well. Therefore, do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Matthew 6:33

I am the LORD your God, who teaches you what is best for you, who directs you in the way you should go. Isaiah 48 17-18

Whether you turn to the right or to the left, your ears will hear a voice behind you saying, “this is the way, walk in it.” Isaiah 30:21

You will keep in perfect peace him whose mind is steadfast, because he trusts in You. Isaiah 23:3

He will teach us His ways, so that we may walk in His paths. Isaiah 2:3

I will instruct you and teach in the way you should go; I will counsel you and watch over you. Psalm 32:8

In the article I mentioned above, the author writes, “Surrender is trusting God in a situation not because we can see with our eyes that He is working all things to our good. It is trusting Him simply because He is who He is.”

The author also weaves beautiful verses from the hymn “I Surrender All” throughout her article.

All to Jesus, I surrender
All to Him I freely give
I will ever love and trust Him
In His presence daily live

I relate to her desire to surrender, as well as her bookish, knowledge-seeking nature. She also writes, “With my natural tendency to study, to seek, and to wrestle, I’ve long possessed the faith that works by knowledge, by awareness of the past, by dogged determination. But as I close my eyes and sing, it’s the faith that works by love that I desire most. To know Him. To love Him. And to surrender all.”

That’s what I’m working toward—faith that works by love. And so, with His help, I will continue to surrender. And I will ever love and trust Him, daily living in His presence.

2 thoughts on “The Joy of Surrender

  1. Meranda says:

    Hey Katie, I just was reading back through your older posts (I know I’m behind!) and saw this and wanted to tell you my pastor preached on this today. His sermon was on the importance of having a strong faith in God.

    One of the points pastor made was that so often we pray, “Dear Lord do this… make this happen… give me that… help me get that job…” We’re always telling Him what He should do, as if he needs our advice. As my Pastor put it, “God doesn’t need us to tell Him what to do.” Instead of asking for the solution we’ve come up with, we should be praying for wisdom and guidance that His will be done, whatever that will is.

Leave a Reply

