Warmth + Words

“We have to dare to be ourselves, however frightening or strange that self may prove to be.”

May Sarton’s lovely words have reminded me that God created each of us with a completely unique set of talents and interests. He blessed me with a heart that leaps for all things creative and happily holds on to the beauty and poetry of words and art—a heart that yearns to create. God’s been stirring up my creative heart quite a bit as of late … planting new ideas, hopeful plans and plenty of inspirations. I’m in the very beginning stages, but there’s a lot to explore and discover.

It’s safe to say I’m going to be writing much more, creating much more, trusting Him much more with each creative spark and where it will lead.

A dear friend recently sent me a new devotional called Jesus Calling. It’s written as though Jesus is speaking directly to you in each devotion. I love it.

Here’s a snippet:

Come to me with a teachable spirit, eager to be changed. A close walk with Me is a life of continual newness. Do not cling to old ways as you step into a new year. Instead, seek My Face with an open mind, knowing that your journey with me involves being transformed by the renewing of your mind.

Isn’t that incredibly uplifting and inspiring? A life of continual newness. I’m excited for the newness of 2010.

I’ve spent much of the beginning of 2010 inside dreaming up creative pursuits, spending quiet time in the Word and reading. I’ve also recently rediscovered a delightful blog, Persisting Stars. Her writing is soothing and softly poetic. Just lovely. And her photographs are all of those things, too. She finds joy in some of the same things I do … a cozy café, a hot cup of coffee or tea, the colors of the sky and trees. And books. I can’t forget books.

And speaking of books, my table has been covered in stacks of them lately. What a perfect, cozy sight on the blustery, snowy white winter days we’ve been having. I’ve also been enjoying little mugs of peppermint and red raspberry tea, too. Warmth and words. They go quite well together during the winter months, I think.

I have plans to bake homemade brown sugar banana sometime in the next week. I got a cookbook for Christmas with plenty of delicious recipes (including lots of homemade fruit breads!). Yum.

Well, I’m off to putter around and read.

Joy + blessings to you, my friends.

One thought on “Warmth + Words

Leave a Reply

