Winter Reading

{photo credit}

During the winter months, I stock up on even more books than I do during the other months of the year. There’s something so wonderfully cozy about a stack of books waiting to be read, and making plans to curl up with a soft blanket in my favorite chair, or burrow under the covers in bed.

{Photo credit}

(This lovely painting is by Dana Ray.)

{photo credit}

I recently finished Kate Morton’s latest novel, The Distant Hours. Another captivating read! All three of her books are completely enchanting, the kind that offer the reader the chance to disappear into the pages, getting lost in a world of secrets and mystery. There’s truly nothing that compares to the feeling of getting lost inside a book…

This winter, I’ve also been reading/planning to read:

* Sarah Addison Allen’s novels (I’ve already finished her newest book, The Girl Who Chased the Moon), and now I’m reading her first book (Garden Spells).

*Rebecca by Daphne DuMaurier (can you believe I’ve never read this classic?!)

*Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë (ditto this classic)

*Wuthering Heights by Emily Brontë (and ditto this classic!)

*And while I’m at it, I should probably add Pride & Prejudice by Jane Austen to this list, as this is another book I started a while back, but never finished!)

*Coming Home by Rosamunde Pilcher (I started this a few years ago and never finished it. I’d like to pick it back up, because it’s a lovely, comforting novel.)

*Redeeming Love by Francine Rivers

*Girl with the Pearl Earring by Tracy Chevalier

What are you reading this winter? Any recommended additions for my list? And what are your favorite winter rituals? Do you delight in the coziness of a cold winter’s night spent inside?

Happy Sunday, friends!

K

 

Leave a Reply

