One Salty Sweet Night

Last night, I finished reading Sarah Addison Allen’s book, Sugar Queen. This was—by far—my favorite of her three novels. Perhaps, it’s because I would love to have books magically appear in my life just when I need them, like they do for one of the book’s characters. :-) Perhaps, it’s because I happen to be the same age as the main character. But it’s actually probably a combination of those things, plus the fact that I found this storyline to be one of her best.

Sugar Queen’s main character, Josey, lives a life that centers around caring for her mother.  She sweetens her sheltered life by retreating to a secret compartment of her closet (where she indulges in her favorite candies and cookies, and daydreams while reading romance novels and travel magazines).

Josey’s routine is suddenly disrupted when she discovers a local woman named Della Lee Baker has taken up residence in her closet. Della, a rough-around-the-edges kind of woman, needs a place to stay for a while to escape her life of bad choices. And she’s decided that while she’s seeking refuge in Josey’s closet, she’s going to help her discover who she’s really meant to be and the kind of life she can be living—one that takes her outside of the comfortable confines of her closet.

Sugar Queen is a sweet, heart-warming novel about being brave, taking chances, and opening our hearts. And it’s about the amazing ways people can come unexpectedly into our lives and change them forever.

To accompany me on last night’s evening of reading, I made a little mug of Starbuck’s salted caramel hot chocolate (a delicious Christmas gift I received). I love that the hot chocolate is dark chocolate (my favorite!) and that there is just a subtle hint of caramel and the slightest salty tang. YUM!

I also pasted and painted a bit in my Sketchbook. Reading Sugar Queen actually got me thinking about the new year and all the memories and adventures to come. I wonder what He has planned for me in the new year, and I can’t help thinking about a quotation I know I’ve shared with you before:

“And now let us welcome the New Year full of things that have never been.” Rainer Maria Rilke. “

I have dreams on my heart that I’d love to explore in the new year. I want to learn, grow, and be challenged. I want to grow in my faith and continue to be shaped into the woman He wants me to be. I’m definitely ready to welcome 2011, ready to begin discovering this new year full of things that have never been.

P.S. If you have a lot of dreams on your heart for the new year, you might be interested in a recent blog post by the talented Elsie Flannigan at A Beautiful Mess.
I’m definitely going to work on tip #4:  Love your working atmosphere.

In fact, I think I’ll start working on redesigning my working space today. :-)

Have a lovely day! I hope it’s

i  n  s  p  i  r  e  d.

K


Leave a Reply

