Crafty Q&A: Jaclyn1423

Hi, everyone! I’m happy to share another new Crafty Q&A with you. Say hello to Jaclyn! She makes lovely jewelry pieces and sells them in her Etsy shop, Jaclyn1423. I have a feeling you’re going to love her work as much as I do! :) Enjoy!
Tell us a little bit about your jewelry-making adventures and how you got started.

Well, I’ve been obsessed with jewelry forever. My jewelry box is a piece of furniture all on its own. A friend who makes jewelry showed me how to use crimp beads and jump rings and other jewelry-making staples—mainly, I just wanted to get my hands on some of the pretty beads. From there, my interest grew. I started Jaclyn1423 mainly because I kept making pieces but couldn’t possibly wear it all!

How would you describe the style of the jewelry you make?

Oooh, good question. I’m not sure! Maybe whimsicle? Vintage-meets-today’s-trends? “Pretty things”?

What do you enjoy most about making jewelry?

The creativity of each part of the process. I love going to Michael’s, or shopping online, or hitting up my favorite antique stores and finding pieces that, for lack of a better phrase, “speak to me.” (Lord, that sounds flaky.) I love it when I can hold a vintage brooch or pretty bead in my head and see it in a finished piece. I also love it when the finished piece looks nothing like my imagination, when reality takes off on its own and comes up with something I couldn’t have ever planned.


Do you have an all-time favorite piece that you’ve created?

Probably my Joey’s Hot Dogs, for the meaning behind them. My brother, Joey, has autism, and hot dogs are his favorite food. Last April, for Autism Awareness Month, I debuted the Joey’s Hot Dog necklaces on my Etsy site. They feature a brightly colored Czech glass bead, a puzzle piece (the symbol of autims) and a hot dog, plus an initial charm, if you like. I donate $5 of each sale to Autism Speaks.

I love the stories behind artwork. Do you have any jewelry creations that have interesting stories behind them?

The Joey’s Hot Dog story is probably my favorite of anything I’ve sold. I also got a really fabulous compliment regarding my shaggy necklace. When my best friend got married, I made the bridesmaid jewelry. She had an idea in mind of what she wanted for her own necklace, but ended up going another route. About a year later, she still had that idea in mind, and she told me about it. I took her idea and came up with the shaggy necklace for her, which she loved. She told me it was exactly what she had wanted for her wedding, and she wished she had asked for it sooner. That really touched me, that had she had the necklace earlier, she may have worn it on her wedding day.

Do you have any daily jewelry staples?

HA! I have way too much jewelry to have staples. The closest thing is probably my right-hand ring. My birthstone is a diamond, and when I was little, I asked my mom for a birthstone ring—all my friends had one! She told me no, that mommies don’t buy daughters dimaond rings, that boys did when girls were all grown up. I thought, in my second-grade way, that’s bull. I always remembered that and in high school, I told myself when I graduated college and had a job, I’d buy myself a diamond ring. I did, and it’s the piece I wear the most, hands down.

Tell us a little bit about your blog Snap, Crackle, Pop. When did you start blogging?

I’ve blogged for various jobs, but this is the first personal one I’ve had. I started it before I began to make jewelry, thinking it’d be primarily a pop culture blog. After starting Jaclyn1423, it quickly morphed into primarily an Etsy blog, with a little bit of pop culture and Life with Joey and autism thrown in there.

What inspires you?

Art and people are probably tied for my No. 1 bit of inspiration. Paintings, music, books, poems, movies, that special kind of friend who I’d swear grew in the same bit of space as I did … they all can create that little spark that makes me want to create.

What are you reading/listening to currently?

I finished “God-Shaped Hole” by Tiffanie DeBartolo last night. I buy books WAY faster than I can read (how else do you have enough to stock a library??), and I picked up “God-Shaped Hole” years ago becaue of the title. How great is that line?? It’s a modern-day love story with so, so many of those little lines that make me think, “I wish I had written that.” Next, I’ll start Stephen King’s, “Blockade Billy.” My current favorite CD is one I bought a few weeks ago — Bruno Mars, Doo-Wops & Hooligans. Songs to download:
“Marry You” and “Runaway Baby.” If these songs don’t make you bop in your seat, no matter where you are, you may be dead inside.
And just for fun:
Share three random facts about yourself. :)

1) Red and green peppers: What evil tastes like.
2) A very good friend in high school used to regularly pull on my finger nails because he was convinced I wore fake nails.
3) I don’t text. Neither does my beau. His brothers think that is proof we are made for each other.
Thanks for participating, Jaclyn!
P.S. If you’d like the chance to win something lovely from Jaclyn’s shop, check out this giveaway. If you enter, you’ll have a chance to win this beautiful Valentine’s Day necklace:

{ K }

Leave a Reply

