We were made to create.

We create because we were made to create, having been made in the image of God, whose first role was Creator. He was and is a million different things, but in the beginning, He was a creator. That means something for us, I think. We were made to be the things that He is: forgivers, redeemers, second-chance givers, truth-tellers, hope-bringers. And we were certainly, absolutely, made to be creators. ~Shauna Niequist, Bittersweet

Lately, I am devouring Shauna Niequist’s words. Underlining passages, re-reading favorite sections, truly taking in each and every page. I finished her book Cold Tangerines a few days ago, and I’m almost finished with Bittersweet.

I love the quote above about being made to create. I am a writer, an editor, a painter. I create stories with words and paint, and I don’t feel like myself without those things.

My mom and sister create lesson plans that truly impact children’s lives. And my mom also creates the loveliest flowerpots. Her eye just naturally combines colors and plants to create beautiful, living works of art. Both of my parents create culinary masterpieces, cooking meals that nourish friends and family. Some friends of mine sing and create music that moves you like nothing else can. Other friends of mine, make art behind the lens of a camera.

Creativity is truly limitless.
Even if you don’t feel like you’re creative, you are—because you were made in His image, and you were made to create.

So keep making your beautiful, meaningful artwork—whatever it is—knowing it’s part of what makes you, you, and it’s one of the things you were created to do.

{k}

4 thoughts on “We were made to create.

  1. Jaclyn Rae says:

    That’s how I read Shauna Niequist’s books too– highlighting, re-reading, marking pages. Reading her work feels like having wonderful conversation over coffee with an old friend :)

  2. K says:

    I totally agree, Jaclyn! :) I’m almost finished with Bittersweet, but I’m trying to read slowly, as I’m not ready for the book to end! :) I’m excited Shauna is working on a third book. Hope you’re having a great week!

  3. ravenartist says:

    Wow, I don’t know how I stumbled upon your blog, but you are super cool! I am an art teacher in Atchison, Kansas and I do an entire unit on “Why is art important?” and the basic premise I start from is that we are made in the image and likeness of God and so we need to create… because it is inherent to our very being. Thank you for sharing and please, keep posting!

  4. K says:

    Hi, Ravenartist! Thanks so much for your encouraging comment! :) Glad you found me. It’s so wonderful to hear about your “Why is Art Important” unit. Teachers are so important, too. You make such a difference. :) I truly appreciate what you do!

Leave a Reply

