Looking Forward ~ My One Little Word for 2012

Today, while reading some of my favorite blogs, I came across this post by Holly of Create Loves.

Her post was about the word she’s chosen as her focus for 2012:  forward.  As I was reading her post, I realized just how much I wanted to apply that word to my own life in 2012.

In 2011, I chose the word experience as my One Little Word, because it summed up how I wanted to live and experience life in 2011. I wanted to be present in every moment, discover new things, and seek out new experiences and adventures. And in so many ways, I did live life that way in 2011. (I shared my creative writing and artwork at local art shows/sales; participated in The Sketchbook Project; found a church and joined a small group…) 2011 was definitely a year of experiencing new things, taking risks, and living adventurously.

I think the word forward takes everything I experienced in 2011, and pushes me even further. As Holly wrote in her post, the word forward is about “not regretting anything that has happened in the last year and moving forward with new opportunities, new projects, and new goals.”

I love that—because there are certainly some things in 2011 that didn’t go as I planned or hoped they might. But that’s the way life works sometimes, isn’t it? We live as bravely as we can, taking risks, seeking God, and then we wait to see how it all will unfold, according to His perfect plan. Like it says in Proverbs 16:9: In their hearts, humans plan their course, but the Lord establishes their steps.

I’m looking forward to all 2012 holds. There are so many hopes I’m holding close to my heart, hopes that I’ve given to the Lord, so He can establish my steps, according to His will.

Are you participating in One Little Word? If so, I’d love to know what you’ve chosen to focus on in 2012.

{k}

4 thoughts on “Looking Forward ~ My One Little Word for 2012

  1. K says:

    Thank you so much, Melissa! What a sweet comment! :) Peace is a great word. I can’t wait to go read your post about it. Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

