This Season’s Story: Twitter Style

In my post about journaling, I wrote about how looking back through old entries is a powerful way for me to see the hand of God in my life. In a great conversation I had on Sunday, I realized that social media offers us a similar opportunity. So, I decided to post a little recap of my life season the last six months or so, based on some of the tweets I’ve posted.

FEBRUARY

Thankful for an inspiring weekend filled with good food, good company, & lots of laughter. :)
 Feb 12

For Lent, I’m replacing my morning blog/e-mail/Pinterest/etc. time w/ time spent in the Word. Looking forward to the growth that occurs. Feb 12

You never know what God has up His sleeve. ;) #trustinhisplan 
Feb 12

JANUARY

Kinda wish I had some cider to enjoy on this blustery night. I’d make hot cocoa, but I think I’ve prob hit my chocolate quota for the day. 17 Jan 12

Once Upon a Time is delightfully good. #fairytalesforadults#Sundaynightroutine Jan 12

Praying this afternoon for Him to reveal the next step in my journey & for the confidence and faith to follow Him. #onmyheart #isaiah Jan 12

There’s a bittersweet balance between remembering and looking forward. Jan 12

Thankful that He knows me better than I know myself. 
Jan 12

God is good, and He does good things. #truth #neededtohearthis Jan 12

Now that I’ve chosen “forward” as my word for 2012, I feel like I’m seeing it everywhere. #socool #oneword2012 #inspiration Jan 12

DECEMBER

“But blessed is the one who trusts in the Lord, whose confidence is in him.” (Jeremiah 17:7 NIV) Dec 11

Found a copy of the newspaper column I wrote my senior year of college…Advice from college Katie: embrace change; you never know what it will bring. A good reminder, as we get ready to welcome 2012. :) Dec 11

Be joyful in hope, patient in affliction, faithful in prayer. (Romans 12:12 NIV) Dec 11

NOVEMBER

When we have courage and hope, it shows that our faith is active and real. Nov 11

This season: an open heart and open hands for all God has planned. Nov 11

Just found out I got accepted to sell my collages at my company’s holiday art show. I am equal parts excited and nervous! ;) Nov 11

OCTOBER

Feeling completely blessed by my church family tonight. Saying a prayer of thanks for all the ways God provides for me. Oct 11

SEPTEMBER

Got my first apple cider of the season. :) Definitely going to enjoy a mug tonight! Sept 11

Starting my 28 Things list for the blog. :) Sept 11

AUGUST

In their hearts humans plan their course, but the lord establishes their steps. (Proverbs 16:9 NIV) Aug 11

Commit to the lord whatever you do, and he will establish your plans. (Proverbs 16:3 NIV)
 Aug 11

* * *

After reading and reflecting on some of these tweets, I think I’ve come to realize that one of the biggest lessons I’ve learned in the last few months has to do with surrender. I’ve been learning that when I stop trying to push and manipulate my story the way I think it should go, God shows up and does amazing things.

If you’re on Facebook or Twitter, think about taking a look at some of your past posts. Your posts are like a journal of sorts, and you never know—they might reveal some beautiful life lessons or even just make you smile at some of the little everyday blessings you’ve enjoyed.

{k}

Leave a Reply

