*Choices

Elsie’s post on Choices has really stayed with me this week.

A few days ago, she wrote about the choices we make in life — both the big and little ones: “the really big choices that change everything like who you marry, where you choose to live, and getting on a career path… And then the little things, the things that seemingly don’t matter at all that can really affect you over time. What you eat, who you follow on Twitter, whether or not you make time for hobbies…little stuff.”

There’s definitely a lot to be said about choices. And even how we make them, I think. Just like it says in Ecclesiastes, there’s a time and a season for everything. And that ordering affects when and how we make the big and little choices in life.

I’m definitely in a season of preparation and planting right now. Digging deep into prayer and asking God what He wants for me. I’m spending a lot of time praying, planting, and preparing, because I want my decisions, dreams, and choices to reflect my faith in Him and align with His plan for my life.

And while I don’t know what’s next…

I think this season just might be the one to give my current dreams and prayers the wings to fly.

2 thoughts on “*Choices

  1. Meranda says:

    So true. “… The little things, the things that seemingly don’t matter at all that can really affect you over time … who you follow on Twitter…little stuff.” Four years ago, I was writing for a newspaper that decided to capitalize on my social media skills before Twitter/social media was really seen as an important part of the reporter’s job. I was the only local member of media tweeting about campaign visits from Democratic candidates and their families (eh hem Bill Clinton, et. al.) As a result, a lot of locals started following me. I followed most back as a way of keeping tabs on my community commentary. Fast forward four years… I’m engaged to be married to one of the people who followed me during that period, whom I got to know first over social media, then as “friends” over lunch and months later, dinner, and so on. So those “little decisions” you don’t even consciously make can totally change your life in ways you never imagined.

  2. K says:

    I just love your story, Meranda! Thank you so much for sharing, my friend. :) Life is such an adventure, isn’t it? I love the unexpected twists and turns it can take, surprising us in ways we never could have imagined! :)

Leave a Reply

