Daily Scripture: Ephesians 4:29

This morning, while I was reading in Ephesians and enjoying my pumpkin-raisin toast (can you say YUM?!), this verse stuck with me:

Do not let any unwholesome talk come out of your mouths, but only what is helpful for building others up according to their needs, that it may benefit those who listen.

I especially like this portion of the New Living Translation:

Let everything you say be good & helpful, so that your words will be an encouragement to those who hear them. (Eph. 4:29 NLT)

I just love this verse. It’s an honest reflection of the desire of my heart. Being an encouragement to others is something that I’m passionate about, something that matters a lot to me. It’s the very foundation of this blog and why I love to write and create artwork.

And it’s a challenging verse, too — let ONLY what is helpful come out of your mouth, the verse says. It’s an exercise in thoughtful speaking for sure.

What about you? What’s encouraging/inspiring your heart today?

 
Leave a Reply

