Creating NEW + Meaningful Things

We’re currently working through an amazing series at church about creativity. This week, we were given a list of questions to think about before the service, and I found them so inspiring, I thought I’d share them with you all here.

The Questions:

What is one thing you would like to do/create/accomplish between now and the end of this year?

What one thing generally keeps you from reaching your goals or creating new things?

What are the key elements necessary for you to do something great/meaningful?

What role do you think God plays in the creative process?

How is art/creativity linked to following Jesus?

Such good questions, right?

Of course, the first thing that came to my mind is the book I’m currently creating, because that’s probably the biggest creative dream on my heart right now.

I’ve been giving the rest of the questions some thought, as well, and I think there are many things that can hold us back from reaching our goals, such as finding the time to pursue those goals and dreams, overcoming insecurities about actually doing and pursuing the things we dream about, and having enough courage to be vulnerable in our art and put ourselves out there through what we create.

I’m realizing that for me, one of the key elements to overcoming all of those things and creating something new and meaningful is to make sure I’m always connected to Him.

I’m discovering that my time/connection with Him is essential to my creative process and the art that I make. 

One of the things we discussed last Sunday, as part of our kick-off to this new series, was that as He recreates us, His fruit will emerge in what we create and produce.

I know I need to be more intentional about seeking Him, so His fruit will emerge in what I’m creating. That has to be the very heart of what I’m doing. I want to ask myself regularly where my heart is and what fruit is being produced through my creative pursuits. Am I seeking Him first? Am I seeing His fruit emerge?

What about you? I’d love to hear about any dreams that are on your heart. I think it’s so important to share our dreams and encourage each other to pursue them.

We’re all creators and can bring so much beauty and meaning into the world through our art and our lives.

3 thoughts on “Creating NEW + Meaningful Things

  1. K says:

    Hi, Raechel! Thank you for your kind comment! I totally agree. It’s amazing to think that we are made in His image and can experience some of His creativity. A blessing for sure. :-)

  2. Denise says:

    Your pictures are beautiful! I love the questions about creativity too. They started me thinking about my creative dreams. I’d like to follow those dreams after I retire. I’d like to hear more about the series you have started at church.

Leave a Reply

