Create, Make, Do.

Been thinking a lot about this quote I saw in a Relevant Magazine article:

The current Creators series we are working through at church is all about creating, making, and doing. But it’s also about connecting — connecting with God and with others through the art we make.

A few great takeaways I jotted in my journal last week:

*We should engage with art that captures our hearts, because it connects us with God.

*When we’re inspired to create, we should create.

*There is an ongoing story being told through all art that’s created. Everything we do and create tells a story.

As an artist, I often remind myself that no one else can tell my story the way I can tell it. No one else can write the exact words I write, make the art I make, or tell the story I tell. And that’s a freeing thought! I don’t want to miss the chance to share my art with the world, because I’m too shy, scared, insecure, (fill in the blank!).

I’m also learning how to better invite Him into my creative process. My heart knows that I create, because He made me to create, and I want to make things that point back to Him, but I think all too often I leave Him out of my actual creative process. It’s something I’m learning to pay more attention to and be more intentional about.

I’m thankful that He’s given me this season to create, that in the midst of all of my hopes and dreams and plans for the future, He’s nudging me to really focus on Him and creatively telling my story. I’m thankful He’s encouraged me to stop looking ahead so much and just engage in life and be exactly who He made me to be.

What kind of art captures your heart? How are you sharing your unique story with the world?

{ P.S. The gray font used above was designed by Elsie of A Beautiful Mess. Cute, no?}

 

4 thoughts on “Create, Make, Do.

  1. Shanice Jones says:

    I’m not really an artist when it comes to creating things on paper nut I’m artistic with. My voice and I always ask God to come in and intervene. Give me the right words to say to make sure his Gospel is heard and his name is high and lifted up!

  2. K says:

    Thanks so much for sharing, Shanice! I love what you said about being artistic with your voice. And I love your prayer for the right words. :-) Thanks for reading!

  3. gayle @ grace for gayle says:

    I love everything about this post, it is sheer perfection. It really made me think!

    Photography captures my heart, and that is also how I best express myself creatively. I love to write, but so many times I find a picture is so incredible, it doesn’t even require words. :)

  4. K says:

    Thanks so much, Gayle! I’m so glad you enjoyed it! I love your thoughts on photography. Isn’t it amazing how art can speak without any words at all? It can cross all language barriers and still communicate. I think that’s so incredible. :) I’m looking forward to visiting your site! Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

