THANKFUL FOR: Creative Collaborations

It’s Thanksgiving week! So many things to be thankful for lately…

My first THANKFUL FOR post this week is about creative collaborations.

As I’ve been working on my eBook project, I’ve been so blessed by creative friends who share their passion, energy, time, and talent. Recently, I’ve been working with my friends Nate and Maria to put together a little video promo about my book. Our first shoot was Saturday. :-)

I brought Maria on as the video’s stylist, because not only do I love her personal style, she’s got an amazing style blog called The Style Letters AND, she has a background in styling!

Maria and I spent a few months talking about ideas and collecting pins that matched the “mood” we were going for in the video. You can see we collected lots of bright, happy, sparkly, inspiring pins on our video inspiration board Be Bright, Sparkle, + Shine.

(And Nate was pretty patient with all the girly-ness. What a good guy! Haha)

Maria also helped me coordinate plenty of fun props and accessories (I’ll give you a few peeks below).

You might spot a few fun brooches like this one in the video…

We also made sure to include lots of colorful props (like my favorite polka-dotted notebooks).

And, of course, coffee had to be a prop, too.

Side note: Angel Falls makes their dairy-free lattes with almond or rice milk. I’ve never tried one with the almond milk, but I love the way the lattes taste with rice milk, as opposed to soy. They seem lighter or something. Just love them.

For the video locations, I wanted to shoot at inspiring local places with plenty of personality (since my book is all about living an inspired life!).

I found The Civil Wars on vinyl during our shoot in this cute record shop. (Now I just need a record player!) ;) P.S. What do you think of my red statement coat? My mom found it for me at a boutique last winter. I love the large black buttons and the romantic, vintage details.

I hope you enjoyed this little behind-the-scenes peek at movie making. Nate did an awesome job behind the camera, and I’m looking forward to sharing the finished piece with you!

I’ll share more about the video and eBook in upcoming posts, as well.

Happy Monday!

One thought on “THANKFUL FOR: Creative Collaborations

  1. Maria says:

    Thank you so much for the shout out, Katie! I had so much fun planning and prepping for this shoot and loved hearing the stories behind the pieces you chose to wear. I can’t wait to see the video and read your book! Also, I am LOVING that red roses coat. :)

Leave a Reply

