Less Comparing, More Creating

Less comparing. More creating.

This is something I’ve been reminding myself lately… Words I need to carry in my heart.

I’ve been asking myself why I’m blogging, where I fit in the blogging world, and what kind of an impact my little blog is making. They’re hard questions, and I don’t always have answers.

But I do know that He made me to create. That it’s such a part of who I am, and it brings my heart so much joy.

I’ve also realized I haven’t done much in the way of art making lately, and it’s something I am definitely missing. I’ve been working on mapping out eBook ideas and blog posts, and somewhere along the way, I stopped art journaling and making new collages. I know that’s something that needs to change, because the creative process of putting paint and image to paper or wood or canvas refreshes me in a way other creative pursuits cannot.

So, this is what I’m learning: Even when I feel a bit lost or insignificant, or even when I feel just too busy, I have to push through. I have to keep writing and blogging and painting and collaging.

I have to do less comparing and more creating.

And I have to let Him handle the rest.

***

Is there a creative pursuit you love that you aren’t pursuing? Something that’s been neglected due to busyness or insecurity or doubt? This week, I want to encourage you to jump back in — do more creating — the kind that brings you the most joy.

6 thoughts on “Less Comparing, More Creating

  1. Leeann says:

    My favorite creative pursuit is creating scrapbook layouts. However, I often put this hobby on the back burner because it literally takes up an entire day. I recently remembered why I write, so I am not without any creative outlets.

  2. K says:

    I’ve done some scrapbooking, too, Leeann, and I know what you mean about it being time consuming! My scrapbooking has evolved into art journaling, but it can still be tough to find the time to sit down and spend a few hours doing that! I’m glad writing is a creative outlet bringing you joy, as well. It’s so important to nurture our creative loves, I think. :-) Thanks for reading and sharing!

  3. K says:

    Thanks so much! Love + agree with your thoughts about writing and creating! Finding that balance between writing and creating with our hands can be so refreshing and renewing. :) Thanks for reading!

  4. Lindsay / Little One Love says:

    I love this post. I so often find myself feeling inadequate. To whom I’m not really sure but just that I’m not living up to my capabilities I suppose. This is such a good reminder that we were made to be who we are and comparing our selves to others is a sure way to loose sight of your own full potential. Thanks for this.

  5. K says:

    Hi, Lindsay! Thanks so much for such a kind comment. I know exactly what you mean. I’m so glad this post was an encouragement to you to keep being true to who you are. (And I’m so glad we connected through Blog Brunch!) :)

Leave a Reply

