Songs of Joy & Praise

letyourhope

Last night, as I was reading my She Reads Truth plan before bed (about Mary’s visit to Elizabeth), I started thinking about friends and community and prayers. I started thinking about how often we share our struggles with each other. I do think it’s so important to be honest and vulnerable and to have friends we can share those struggles with. I value those people in my life SO MUCH. We need those prayer partners and those people we give access to our most vulnerable hopes, dreams, worries, and concerns…That’s how we grow together.

But, as I was reading what’s known as Mary’s Song, I was challenged to be more intentional about also sharing the joy and the praise. I would say I’m quicker to reach out for prayer than I am to just share something beautiful God has done or taught me.

I love the end of our She Reads Truth devotional from yesterday:

I’d love for each of us to get a little creative. Read through Mary’s Song in a few translations—even read it out loud or sing it if you’re feeling brave.

Now write your own song of praise. It doesn’t need to be fancy or technical—just write it from your heart.

You don’t need to share it with anyone, but if you do have an “Elizabeth” in your life, I encourage you to make yourself a little vulnerable and share your words with this person.

“Oh how my soul praises the Lord. How my spirit rejoices in God my Savior!” [v. 46-47, NLT]

I want my vulnerability with friends and community to also include the praise. And as we move closer to Christmas day, I want to write my own “song of praise” about the past year and all God has done in my life.

Perhaps, I’ll even share it here.

Blessings to you all on this snowy/windy Friday,

K

2 thoughts on “Songs of Joy & Praise

  1. K says:

    Aw, Jillian! So thankful for you! :) Thanks for your sweet comments that encourage me and brighten my days! You’re a blessing! xoxo
    P.S. If you write one, we’ll have to share them with each other!

Leave a Reply

