Use Your Gifts & Spread The Courage

If you’ve been around here for a while, you know I write a lot about loving your story and living it with courage and confidence. I believe in that with my whole heart, and I’d venture to say I write about it so much, because it’s a reminder and a truth I need to hear often, too.

POSTERS_lionhart_fearfullywonderfully-01resize_original

{image via Lionhart}

I’m honored and excited to be participating in a social media campaign called Overcome The Lie. Overcome The Lie is a week-long campaign focused on breaking free from the lies we as women have been told, maybe even believed, and celebrating our stories of how we have overcome any lie, big or small! It is being hosted by The Story Project in partnership with Lionhart. It runs from January 28-February 1.

My friends, there is so much power and protection in God’s truth, and I’m learning how important it is to live and rest in that truth each and every day. In my life, the Lord has really been setting me free from lies that prevent me from living fearlessly and fruitfully. He is teaching me that each and every season He places me in is important and beautiful and that He’s using me even in those seasons I call “seasons of waiting.”

beyou

The lie of comparison also is something He’s been setting me free from. My story does not/should not/will not look exactly like someone else’s. Sure, there may be similarities, which can be great sources of encouragement, but when we start comparing and feeling like our story doesn’t measure up — that’s when we allow the lie of comparison to steal our joy and hinder our ability to produce fruit.

As part of the most recent She Reads Truth plan (which I HIGHLY recommend), I read this scripture in Romans 12: We have different gifts, according to the grace given to us. It does not say some of us have gifts. It says we, meaning ALL OF US. We all have different gifts (also note it says different gifts), according to the grace given to each of us. Be encouraged to use your unique giftings in faith. You are beautifully unique and have so much to offer the world. Embrace those things. Share those things. Be brave in those things.

We can’t allow the lies we hear to keep us from living out our stories and sharing our gifts and our hearts. Because when we do share our gifts and our hearts and our stories, we spread the courage so others may do the same. A while ago, I read this quote from Katherine Center: “You have to be brave with your life, so that others can be brave with theirs.

POSTER_SpreadCourage_original

{image via Lionhart}

Let’s do that together, shall we?

Let’s live out His truth, joining together through Overcome the Lie, and be brave with our lives, so others can be brave with theirs.

P.S. There’s going to be a Twitter party on January 30 in celebration of our stories and freedom in Him. I hope you’ll join me there. It’s going to be such a joyful, encouraging event. It starts at 8 p.m., using the hashtag #overcomethelie. You can RSVP here.

7 thoughts on “Use Your Gifts & Spread The Courage

  1. K says:

    Thank you, Melody! That’s very sweet, and I’m so glad you’re finding encouragement on my blog. Makes my heart so happy! @Ashley, Thank you so much. I’m so honored to be a part of Overcome The Lie, and I’m blessed by your idea and heart to start it! xo

  2. K says:

    Hi, Sarah! So glad it’s been an encouragement to you! I am loving being a part of the campaign. Such a blessing. Thanks for reading! :)

Leave a Reply

