Creating an eBook – The Beginning

For a while now, I’ve wanted to share with you a little behind-the-scenes look at my eBook process, so today, I thought I’d take you through some of the initial brainstorming phases.

journal

As with most creative projects, my eBook started with an idea — an idea and a wonderfully inspiring conversation with a dear friend.

Remember when I attended Weapons of Mass creation?

Well, there I was that hot summer day (very hot, actually), wandering around with one of my dearest friends, talking creativity and discussing the crazy process of making things and taking risks and following dreams.

Somehow, we must have landed on the topic of books and writing, because all of a sudden, there she was planting the idea in my head to write an eBook and publish it myself. Strangely enough, it was an idea I’d never considered, but the more I thought about it, the more inspired and encouraged I felt to go for it.

At that point, however, I wasn’t sure what it was that I’d write about. It probably took another month or so for the idea to fully form, and I will say that during that brainstorming time I found this often-quoted piece of advice to be true: Write/create what you want to see/read.

Let me expand on that idea a little further by sharing two quotes from Annie Downs (who recently taught a class about writing in all seasons for The Influence Network). While I wasn’t able to attend the class, I did snag these gems from Twitter, and they really speak so perfectly to this idea.

“What season are you living? What are you hoping for? What do you wish someone else was writing about?”

“There is profound power in writing, speaking, blogging, sharing right where you are.”

I found those statements to be very true in my brainstorming phase of eBook creation (even though I didn’t know about them at the time). As I was dreaming and planning, I was thinking a lot about who I was as a creative/woman of God and what inspired/encouraged me. I was thinking about the life season I was living and everything I was learning through God’s generous love and grace.

It also helped that at around the same time I decided I wanted to write an eBook, I was also redefining the focus for my blog. That whole blog reorganization/rebranding essentially led me to decide I wanted to write about how to live inspired, creative, fulfilling lives in every season.

My next piece of advice for the initial phase of brainstorming and creation is this: don’t rush the process. Even after you’ve dreamed up an idea, take your time to really sit with it. Journal about it. Make lists. Pray about it. I have pages and pages in my journal with lists and ideas for my eBook — and not everything will make it into the final book. You have to give yourself the time and space to really get to know your idea. Figure out what it truly means to you and how you might develop it.

I honestly spent about five months in this initial brainstorming/praying/journaling phase, and I’m so thankful for the time I spent doing that. It might seem like a long time, but I feel like I know my ideal well, and I know where I want to go with it. Plus, when you generate a lot of ideas brainstorming, it makes it so much easier to actually begin the sometimes daunting task of actually sitting down and creating.

In my next Creating an eBook post, I will share a bit more about the actual process I used for brainstorming and some of the ways I started to organize my ideas before jumping into the writing phase. I look forward to continuing to share this exciting creative journey with all of you. Thanks for being a part of it! :)

* * *

Do you have a big idea or dream that God’s placed on your heart? Are there things you wish someone would create? Why not spend some time really sitting with those ideas, exploring them, getting to know them, and bringing them honestly before The Lord? Who knows, you might be at the beginning of a beautiful creative adventure…’

{photo by LuSarah SEAS Photography}

 

13 thoughts on “Creating an eBook – The Beginning

  1. K says:

    Thanks, Natalie! Really appreciate the encouragement and excitement. It keeps me feeling spurred on to keep creating. :)

  2. K says:

    Thanks, Beth! So exciting that you’ve been thinking about writing one, too. I’ll be excited to see where you take your ideas! :) Thanks for reading!

  3. creativityorcrazy says:

    Enjoyed this post and have the link on a post I just did. I’ve been thinking about doing an ebook on caregiving. It’s an area I have a lot of experience with, but I feel there is much missing from the books I’ve read on caregiving.

  4. K says:

    @creativityorcrazy Thanks for your comment! I think that’s awesome that you’re thinking about doing an eBook on caregiving. It sounds like something close to your heart, which would make for a great book, I think! :)

  5. Rebecca Stewart says:

    I’m so glad to read this series, as I’m in the very beginning stages of writing an e-book as well. Yours sounds so interesting–can’t wait to read it!

    Glad to have connected with you through the Influence Network!

Leave a Reply

