My Plans for Lent

Bible

Today marks the beginning of the Lenten season, and after prayerfully considering how I would observe it, this is where I’ve ended up:

In short, I want to cut distractions and intentionally draw nearer to the Lord.

I love what Erika wrote about her Lent plans: “It’s always tempting for me to treat Lent as a self-help time — to tackle eating sweets, or too much television, but Lent is more of a heart thing, or at least it is for me. Lent literally means to fast, so I’ve decided to fast from the little things I fill my time with and instead making time to write and process.” 

A heart thing.

Yes.

And this year, I want the focus of my heart and the focus of my approach to Lent to simply be this: more time with Him…and not just more time, but more quality time.

I hope to do the following, in an effort to be more intentional in my seeking.

*Make more time for intentionally reading scripture. I plan to start each day in The Word — before checking e-mail, Twitter, Facebook, etc. I want my time with Him to be a priority. (This is something I’ve already started, but I want to keep at it. Lent helped me find a really good rhythm last year that I moved away from a bit in the months that followed, and I’m hoping another commitment this year will help me get back on track.) In addition, each day, I plan to journal about at least one verse that has impacted me during my reading. I want to really interact with the Word, not just read it and then forget about it for the rest of the day.

*Cut distractions. On some days, this might mean watching less TV or spending less time on the computer. Again, it comes back to making my time with Him a true priority.

*Take a One-Week Blog Sabbath. I’d like to take at least one blog sabbath during Lent, during which time I’d like to spend more time in the Word and in prayer. I’d like it to be a time to really pray through some of the things on my heart currently, committing those things to the Lord and really listening to what He has to say about each thing. I hope that through this time during Lent, my heart will become even more in tune with listening, hearing Him, and responding in true faith.

*More time with the printed word. I love the ease of electronics, but I interact differently with the printed word than I do with the computer/iPhone screen.

So, there you have it…or at least what I’ve fleshed out so far. I’m signing off now, so I can get in the Word. I also want to end each day with Him, too.

Do you have any plans for Lent? I’d love to hear about them.

4 thoughts on “My Plans for Lent

  1. Emmy says:

    I’m experimenting with the Divine Hours – which is REALLY liturgical and traditional of me. Part of me is even freaked out by it. But it’s a tradition that is famous with monks and such. Prayer time in the morning, afternoon, and evening with traditional prayers, Psalms, songs, readings, etc. Kinda like mini prayer services through the day. I started last night and the biggest thing that hit me as I was going through it was the emphasis of having a change of heart. So I think that’s what my focus is going to be through Lent. Changing my heart.

  2. K says:

    @Emmy That sounds awesome! I might look into that. Will you be blogging about it? I’d love to follow along. A changed heart is such a beautiful and wonderful focus for Lent. I love that. :)

    @Natalie Thanks for the encouragement, girl! You are a blessing! :)

    @Beth Looking forward to following along your Lent journey, too, and seeing how your plans go and all He does in your life and heart through your intentionality.

    Thankful for all of you! :)

Leave a Reply

