Thoughts on Being Brave

By far, the post that gets the most traffic on this little blog of mine is my Poem for Bravery. Week after week, people arrive at A Place to Dwell after searching for poems on bravery.

This got me thinking about being brave — what it looks like, what it means for each of us, and how we get there.

I think we all want to be brave, taking risks and making leaps forward that bring us to exciting new places. No one wants to be stuck or static. But why is it so hard sometimes? Why do we so often doubt ourselves when it comes to the bravery we carry around inside? Why does it often lie dormant, hidden away from the world and from ourselves? And how can we tap into it more often?

I’m learning that bravery comes more freely in my life when I trust Him more. (It so often comes back to trust, doesn’t it?) I am finding I can be bolder and braver when I’m in His presence, when I’m walking closely with Him and trusting Him to lead my steps.

Deeper trust leads to freedom —
freedom from fear, freedom from worry/anxiety, freedom from insecurity…The list goes on.
Deeper trust frees us from everything that overshadows the bravery we always have within us. 

I know I’ve mentioned that I’m currently working through the Fearless plan on YouVersion (highly, highly recommend). As I make my way through this plan, I am opening my heart more to His truth — who He is and what He wills for my life, and I am being set free from the things that hinder me from having the kind of trust that produces a brave, courageous spirit.

I want to live this life as an adventure, with Him as my faithful companion and guide. When He wants to take me somewhere new in my life and in my faith, I want to jump at the chance, bravely following along, knowing that we’re going to end up somewhere good, even if the trip there challenges me in unexpected ways.

I want to recite His truth when the bravery feels hard to find, remembering that He desires me to be strong and courageous, and He will equip me to do so.

And I want to be encouraged that I can always draw on His strength and His wisdom, because He is with me wherever I go.

What about you? What does bravery look like in your life? In what ways has He been equipping you to live with faith and courage?

5 thoughts on “Thoughts on Being Brave

  1. Emmy says:

    I think this is one of my biggest downfalls. I feel like I used to be brave – but something happened and I’m not anymore. I don’t know what happened, but it did.

  2. Grace Biskie (@gabwithgrace) says:

    “I want to recite His truth when the bravery feels hard to find, remembering that He desires me to be strong and courageous, and He will equip me to do so.” this is fabulous. A great reminder! reciting truth can almost never do a girl wrong!

  3. K says:

    @Emmy Thanks for sharing your heart here. I know it can feel like we lose that bravery sometimes, but I’m willing to bet it’s still there within you. :)

    @ Grace and Natalie Thank you both for the encouragement! I’m glad He gave me the words to share. :)

    Here’s to seeking Him and being brave!

  4. Julie Johnson says:

    I loved the idea of the blog sabbath! I think I might do that!! I love the idea.
    This season of Lent will take a good look at clean eating and cleansing parts of my life back to simplicity and figuring out what the next step is for our family.

    Being brave for me is looking at where God is calling my spiritual gifts to be served and following those steps. There isn’t a clear picture, but every step to the whole has been a blessing. For me being brave is following each window that opens itself to me.

Leave a Reply

