A Thousand Dreams

lyricsCropped

Lately, I can’t get enough of these lyrics from Francesca Battistelli’s song Strangely Dim. In the midst of praying about what feels like a thousand dreams, I need the reminder to fix my eyes on Him, need the reminder that He lovingly holds every single one.

I’ve had all these plans piled up sky high 
A thousand dreams on hold
And I don’t know why, 
I’ve got a front row seat 
To the longest wait
And I just can’t see
Past the things I pray
Today

It’s true that sometimes it can be hard to see past the things we pray. I am a dreamer, and I love dreaming. It energizes me and inspires me and motivates me like nothing else does. And I love and cherish the dreams and desires He’s placed on my heart to pray about. They are gifts, and they are precious to me. But I also don’t want to be so focused on the praying and the wondering and the waiting that I miss His face. I want to experience the joy of just being with Him and sitting in His presence.

But when I fix my eyes on all that You are
Then every doubt I feel
Deep in my heart
Grows strangely dim
All my worries fade
And fall to the ground
Cuz when I seek Your face
And don’t look around
Any place I’m in
Grows strangely dim 

I love knowing that I can experience this kind of peace and rest whenever I seek and abide in Him. He will quiet every question, every doubt, every worry, every fear. And I’m thankful that I can rest secure, knowing that even though I don’t know what tomorrow may hold, what dreams will come true and when, I do know that He holds them all, and there’s nothing more reassuring than that.

I don’t know I don’t know
What tomorrow may hold
But I know but I know
That You’re holding it all

4 thoughts on “A Thousand Dreams

  1. clbills says:

    Thank you. a great blog post and just what I needed to hear today. I’m also such a planner and dreamer I miss what is right in front of me!

Leave a Reply

