Making Things Happen in 2013

I spent much of my week-long blog Sabbath dreaming with The Lord. It was such a joy to spend that time with Him, sharing the desires on my heart and praying through new ideas and plans and dreams. During my week-long break from writing posts, I discovered Lara Casey’s Make It Happen series, and I prayerfully worked through the different goal-setting/vision-casting steps she’s outlined on her site. I’ve been so excited to share the fruits of that brainstorm (and my blog Sabbath) with all of you.

makeithappen

MY VISION FOR 2013: Inspired, encouraging, balanced, intentional, going further with an open heart. I will embrace my story and my season, living fearlessly, fully, and creatively. I will abide in Him and dream with Him, using my God-given gifts and passions to pursue what He’s laid on my heart. I will pray boldly, trusting His guidance. I desire to see a fruitful harvest in my life that glorifies Him and blesses others. My vision for 2013 is to be more of the woman He created me to be — inspiring, encouraging, and spurring on the people He puts in my life. My vision for 2013 is to bear His fruit in my writing, in my artwork, and in my relationships with others.

**Here’s what I’m saying YES to in 2013 (I have since added many more things to this list in my journal, and I also have a “what I’m saying no to” list):

1. Being intentional (intentionally investing in others and building relationships, intentionally pursuing my writing and art making dreams, intentionally praying and seeking Him…)
2. Creating more balance in my life
3. Positive heart and positive thinking (“from out of the overflow of the heart the mouth speaks”)
4. Deeper trust in God
5. Embracing my current season and living fearlessly, fully, and creatively
6. Limiting computer time and making sure I’m spending time writing and dreaming in my actual journal, playing with paint and papers to create collages, and doing art journaling
7. Setting aside *focused* time for writing (without allowing myself to be distracted by Pinterest or social media)
8. Meditating on His truth daily
9.  An open, thankful heart
10. Living an inspired life
11. Encouraging others to use their gifts and live inspired, creative lives
12. Eating healthy, fresh foods (and fewer processed foods)
13. Believing His promises
14. Abiding in Him
15. Using social media to build community and encourage and spur others on (and not as a time-waster or a way to compare myself with others)
16. Believing that He has given me influence and that my gifts and my story matter
17. Running and yoga
18. Regular Sabbaths and fasting
19. Bold prayers
20. Being confident in being the woman He created me to be
21. Taking risks
22. Leaps of faith

After going through the above exercises, among others, I finally ended up with my 2013 goals:

1.   Write, design, publish my eBook. This book is my heart right now, and I am so, so excited to finish it and release it into the world. I’m already praying that it will be a blessing to those who read it.

2.   Grow as a teacher/speaker/writer. In the five-fold ministry quiz, I rank highest in the areas of Pastor and Teacher. This year, I want to really dig into those two areas and further develop them — stepping even #FURTHER into the calling the Lord has placed on my life. I also want to grow as a writer, continuing to develop my voice and stretching myself creatively as much as I can.
 
3.   Pursue new freelance opportunities and creative collaborations. There are a few publications I am dreaming to work with, and I need to get my ideas on paper (and in e-mail form) and reach out. I also want to just collaborate more with creatives in general. I get so jazzed about working with other talented people who love to make stuff, and I want to do so much more of that this year. It’s inspiring. It builds community. And it’s just so very good for the soul.

4. Make intentional investments: in relationships, in His Kingdom, in developing my God-given passions, dreams, and ministries of writing and art. I want to be intentional in 2013. I want to seek Him daily. I want to hear His voice and respond. I want to always be asking myself these two questions: “What is God saying to me?” and “What am I going to do about it?” And I want to be intentionally inspiring, encouraging, and spurring others on, building community and relationships, and bearing His fruit in everything I do.

5. Fight for my future marriage: We just completed a series at church about fighting for our marriages, and while I might not be IN a marriage currently, I can certainly fight for my future marriage. And I want to. I want to be a blessing to my future husband, even now, in singleness. I want to keep praying for him. I want to keep growing and being mentored and learning about who I am and what that might mean for our future relationship. I want to know — truly know — everything the Lord has to say about marriage, and I want to carry that truth in my heart. I want to be pruned and prepared. And I never want to stop hoping. I want to guard my heart against discouragement and know that His timing is perfect, and it’s always worth the wait.

6.   Seek balance: I want to be intentional about how I’m spending my time this year, and I want to be intentional about establishing a healthy balance in areas like online life/offline life, work/rest, etc. I want to pray and fast (and also pray more and worry less). I want to create more with my hands and not just at a computer. I want to get back to painting, collaging, and art journaling. I love typing out my thoughts, but I am also fulfilled in such a different way when I’m creating with my hands — when it’s messy, and imperfect, and tactile. I know I need to make more space for this in my life. I also want to eat healthy, fresh foods and exercise more. I want to joyfully create and work hard to accomplish my goals/dreams, but I also want to just experience the goodness of living life.

How are your goals coming along so far this year? Did you follow any type of goal-setting/vision-casting process?

P.S. I have a Making Things Happen Pinterest board, too. Check it out, here. :)

{images via Lara Casey}

10 thoughts on “Making Things Happen in 2013

  1. cate @ wild ruffle says:

    What an awesome list – and how incredible to be praying about fighting for your future marriage. Marriage is an amazing but difficult thing (at times) and you need to fight – way to start now!!

  2. Missy says:

    Great goals! I especially love the one about future marriage, as a single gal too, I can totally relate. I have just recently reaffirmed my faith and I made so many changes already to make myself a more devoted Christian and knowing that will help me in my future endeavors, especially marriage, is amazing to know!

  3. megan says:

    just found your blog through the influence network, and i’m so glad i did.
    this post is super inspirational, and just what i needed. i keep seeing girls go through laura casey’s stuff and i think i’m getting the nudge to do the same :) so great to meet you!

  4. K says:

    Thanks, Missy! So awesome to hear what the Lord has been doing in your life and heart lately. Blessings to you today! Thanks for reading!

  5. K says:

    Hi, Megan! So glad you found me! :) I’m glad you were inspired, and I hope you love working through Lara’s stuff as much I did. Can’t wait to read your list! :) Nice to meet you!

  6. Yelena says:

    Okay, how are we not like the same person?!! And totally not in a creepy way either! Lol. You’ve so many of my 2013 goals and aspirations into words in this post. I love the idea of living intentionally. I’ve never really thought of it in that way before, but I do want to strive to live with more delibarate self-control and focus on all God-things, versus just existing and doing anything my heart pleases on a whim. Def going to check out some of the resources you mentioned too.

    What is your e-book about? I have it on my 101 in 1001 list to write and publish an e-book and have been scouring for inspiration – now I’m working through narrowing down my topic list so I can start writing. Good luck on everything you’ve written about in this post and are pursuing – I have no doubt that with faith and lots of hard work you’ll accomplish all of this and more.

    -Yelena

    PS. Excuse this novella comment. I just got so excited reading your blog – it’s like finding a blogging kindred soul. Love when that happens! :)

  7. K says:

    Yelena, your sweet comments have made my day today! So nice to meet a kindred spirit! I look forward to checking out your blog. My eBook is about living an inspired life of possibility (like my blog’s focus) with a focus on living fully and creatively — recognizing and being encouraged by the truth that there is value to EVERY season we find ourselves in and God has a purpose for us and is using us right where we are. I’m so excited to publish it! :) It’s definitely my heart. Thanks so much for your kind encouragement!
    What’s your eBook about? I know you said you’re trying to narrow down the topic…:)

  8. Yelena says:

    That sounds sooo good! I’ll keep an eye out for it. ;) As for mine – I have so many ideas, my two strongest contedors right now though are: 1. A guide to applying & getting into law school {I just went through the process and have so many notes from my reserach!} and/or 2. Letters to my sisters {I have four younger sisters who are going through their teen(age) years right now and there are so many things I want to share with them, but I feel like I can’t fit it all into our conversations, so I would love to put it in writing…it’s a more personal option, but it really applies to any teenage girl so it may work for public consumption?! Anyhow – that’s what I’m thinking about right now, but then I also have so many other ideas! :)

  9. beyond blessed says:

    Love this list! Thank you for sharing! It sounds like we have a lot of goals in common! Praying for you as you begin being more intentional about this journey!

Leave a Reply

