Trusting Through the Silence

Sometimes, we are praying, praying, praying, yearning to hear something — anything — and all we seem to hear or feel is silence.

Do you know the kind I mean?

Lately, my heart is aching for answers and direction, for the next door to open, the next nudge from Him, the next step to be revealed in His plan for me…

But He’s silent.

At least for now.

And I’m learning how to press into that quiet and that silence, opening my heart a little more, asking Him to teach me how to rest in it, rather than fight it.

SongsForCourage

This book is one of my sweetest antiquing finds. It’s so tiny and darling, and it even has a woman’s name inscribed inside the front cover.

faith

Here’s a snippet from one of the poems inside. I love the lines: Faith is the dreams that all hearts know, the evidence of things that are not seen.

I’m thankful that He knows the dreams on my heart and that even when He’s silent, in my faith, I can find Him.

4 thoughts on “Trusting Through the Silence

  1. Missy says:

    Love this post, thank you for the reminder. I am in waiting for that next step but I can already feel God working in my life, it’s amazing!

  2. Yelena says:

    What a lovely little book! Definitly just made that quote my facebook status. And I feel like this post is my thoughts in writing – as I near graduating from college in May, I am left to make some huge decisions on what my next step should be. I have several options and even more dreams, but I’ve been doing so much praying for God to guide me in the right direction. Yet, I feel like it’s not time yet for me to know and more of my focus at this moment should be on my spiritual health. And that gets frustrating, because sometimes, I just want an answer, a point in the right direction…. I’m reading a book right now called “If You Want to Walk on Water, Step out of the Boat…” and the author had a whole chapter of the faith behind waiting – highly recommend it. It continues to calm me when I get anxious for answers from above. :)

  3. K says:

    Hi, Missy! How awesome to hear that you can feel Him working in your life. So wonderful! Thanks for reading. :)

  4. K says:

    Hi, Yelena! Thanks for your comment! :) Loved hearing your heart and what’s going on in your life right now. I think it’s awesome that you’re resting in Him, recognizing that He might not be quite ready to reveal what’s next. I will have to check out that book. Thanks for the recommendation!

Leave a Reply

