Live Your Story Fully & Fearlessly

LIVEYOURSTORY

When Ashley invited me to be a part of the Overcome The Lie blog tour, I knew exactly what I wanted to write about. I knew I wanted to encourage all of you to find the freedom and the fruitfulness that comes from living your story fully and fearlessly.

I love that the heart behind Overcome The Lie is to encourage and equip women to declare the truth boldly and advance the Kingdom with passion and power.

As a community, we are living out so many beautifully unique stories, giftings, and callings. And as a community, we have the opportunity to encourage one another to live those stories without fear — and instead with courage and creativity.

He has been faithfully and patiently teaching me what it looks like to open my heart and my hands, to say YES to where He’s leading, and live with an adventurous, joy-filled spirit.

He’s leading me on a path that looks different than the one I thought I’d be traveling, but He’s teaching me the importance of being willing to take a few detours along the way to certain hopes and dreams He’s written on my heart.

I’m actually writing a book about this very topic right now, because I think there are so many of us (me included!) who get bogged down by comparison, fear, insecurity, and the list goes on. We get so weighed down by these joy-stealers that we’re unable to see the value of where the Lord has us, unable to fully experience the beauty, the growth, and even the HOPE He has for us in the season that we’re in.

The truth is He has given value, meaning, and purpose to every season, every gifting, every heart — and there’s so much strength in recognizing that when we live out our stories with faith, we are actually accepting the invitation to play a beautiful part in a story that’s SO MUCH BIGGER than what we could ever have written for ourselves.

beyou

I’m going to be honest. I fight my story sometimes. I push God to move me to the next chapter, to change this or change that, or to make my story look more like someone else’s, because I’m tired of mine — but thank goodness for His grace that softens my spirit on days like that, His grace that opens me up and quiets me down and reminds me it’s not all about me.

Besides, the really good stories have twists and turns that keep you guessing, so I suppose I shouldn’t be all that surprised that I can’t quite seem to predict mine, given that it’s been written by the greatest storyteller and Creator there is.

It is my hope that in reading these words, you will be encouraged to open your heart to His Truth, His Hand, and His Plan for your life. And it is my hope that you would know deep down in your heart how important YOUR STORY is and what a blessing you are when you’re living it out fully, fearlessly, and creatively.

overcome_20the_20lie_20(1)_original

{Image via Overcome The Lie}

P.S. Overcome The Lie is currently running an awesome 40-day challenge to help us draw closer to the Lord. As part of the challenge, we have been encouraged to fast from something, and I believe the Lord has put it on my heart to fast from fear. I know that might sound quite strange, but I really believe it’s what I’m being led to do, and I think in fasting from fear and refusing to allow doubt to get a foothold, I’ll be able to more fully follow His lead and bear His fruit. We’d love for you to join us in this challenge!

14 thoughts on “Live Your Story Fully & Fearlessly

  1. Heather says:

    Beautiful & encouraging post, as always! I, too, find that I often fight against my story. I checked out Overcome The Lie today & emailed about joining the challenge. Hopefully I’m not *too* late :)

  2. Erika says:

    Happened to come across your blog from your guest post at The Lipstick Gospel! :) I found a lot of the things you said in that post really resonated with me — and reading this here resonates with me, too! :) I think you’re a bit brighter than I am, haha, but I love how you say you live in possibilities. ANYWAY! I don’t think it’s strange to fast from fear — I think you will end up finding your life changed because of this 40-day process. It’s so scary to push through to live your own story, but I think it’s worth it. I’m still figuring out what that means for me, but I’m looking forward to seeing how your journey plays out. :)

  3. Leslie @ Body Won't Break says:

    I love this. Definitely needed this reminder today. God has been calling me to a different story than what I planned for myself. He used my knee surgery and being off from work to do it, too. And while it’s been hard and tough and I feel completely uncertain, I know He is well at work right now.

    So thankful for this encouragement!

  4. Missy says:

    Wow thank you for sharing. I feel the same way about my story, I have a hard time just letting God do work in my life, I wish so much for my life to be different but I understand that he has his own plans for me.

  5. Katie @ A Place to Dwell says:

    Hi, Erika! So nice to “meet” you! :) You are so right that it can be scary to push through to live your own story, but that it is worth it. It’s wonderful to connect with you, and I look forward to exploring your blog!

  6. Katie @ A Place to Dwell says:

    Thanks, Leslie! It makes my heart very happy to hear that this was an encouraging reminder for you today. Glad you can feel Him at work in your life during this season of uncertainty. I know sometimes it’s during those tougher seasons and experiences that we are the most aware of His presence! Thanks for reading and sharing. :)

  7. Katie @ A Place to Dwell says:

    Hi, Missy! Thank you for reading! It can be hard to surrender to His plan and His will, but I have learned how much peace and joy comes through that surrender. Praying that even though your life might not look how you’d plan for it to look right now that He will bless you with great peace and joy, as you continue to trust your story to Him. :)

  8. jee young says:

    Your words really resonated inside of me! I feel like God is constantly telling me how important my story is and how unique it really is. I think now it’s about embracing and fully living out my story to glorify God. Thank you for this post!

  9. Hannah says:

    Katie, I love your blog and your outlook on life! I’m really excited to read more of your “Calling All Dreamers” series. I think what you have to share is so very important and helpful for those of us who are placing faith in God for the BIG dreams He’s planted in our hearts! Thank you for the encouragement and inspiration you provide!

  10. Katie @ A Place to Dwell says:

    Hi, Hannah! Thank you so very much for your sweet words of encouragement. Glad you are excited about the “Calling All Dreamers” series, too. I am SUCH a dreamer, and I love to encourage others to dream BIG with God. I hope to create a community through this series, so we can encourage and spur each other on. Thanks again for reading! :)

  11. extraitparjour says:

    Ditto. I can so relate with this. I’m in a similar phase in my own journey and everything I read or hear that echoes my heart and mind brings so much encouragement. Thank you.

  12. Pingback: Good Reads | Amy

Leave a Reply

