Blogging: Getting Back to Basics

brothertypewriterwrite

I recently discovered Jenni’s Blog Every Day in May Challenge, and I love what she had to say about it: “I think when you force yourself to blog every day, you stop feeling so much pressure for every post to be perfect. I do that (the pressure thing) BIG TIME, and lately, I’ve been so frustrated by the fact that I’m not enjoying the experience of blogging as much anymore. I want to get back to the basics. You know, the writing stuff.”

I really, really love the idea of getting back to basics with blogging — writing from the heart because you LOVE to write. Enjoying the process of putting words and phrases together and really telling a story.

I wish I could participate this month, but with the eBook writing, I just can’t commit to a challenge like this. It’s for sure something I’d like to do in the future, though. And I might try and respond to a few of her prompts here and there, because sometimes, responding to prompts can free us from writer’s block and really encourage our creativity to bloom again.

Perhaps, once the eBook is published, I’ll create my own challenge.

**And speaking of the eBook, I’m working on the next post in the Creating an eBook series, so look for that soon (maybe this weekend?).

Happy Friday, friends! It’s a beautiful spring morning, and I can’t wait to embrace all that’s in store for this day.

5 thoughts on “Blogging: Getting Back to Basics

  1. Julie Johnson says:

    I wanted to her blog things as well, but I could not. I am in school the month of may and frankly just want to focus on being creative through photography and seeing where God leads my creativity this month of intense coursework, but keeping my creative time open for him. I would like to do it in July. Maybe we could collaborate on a calendar.

  2. Heather says:

    I would also love to collaborate on a month of blogging in July (or participate at the very least)! I wish I could do it this month, but so far May has been nuts! I just need to focus on finishing the projects I have lined up before my husband’s graduation next weekend & get the house ready to move across the country ;) I love the idea of getting back to the basics & not worrying about making each post “perfect”. I think the need for post perfection is what hinders my blog the most!

  3. Katie @ A Place to Dwell says:

    @Heather Awesome! Sounds like we have a fun challenge to explore this summer! Can’t wait to collaborate on that! :)

    @Stacey Thanks so much, Stacey! You’re the sweetest encourager, and I appreciate it so much! :)

Leave a Reply

