Adventures in Homemade Lattes

I have yet to create the perfect homemade latte, but I’ve been trying both hot and iced versions.

432098_10101535078402604_75314647_n

I recently purchased a latte wand to froth my almond and coconut milk for coffees, and it’s working fairly well. The creaminess of almond and coconut milk seems to be a good choice for non-dairy coffee drinks, although, I don’t care for the fact that on occasion, there are particles in the milk (I guess from the processed almonds).

984259_10101536273522574_1848284269_n

I bought this dark chocolate sea salt caramel sauce to use in this iced latte recipe. This sauce is SO GOOD. You’ve got the richness of the dark chocolate and a hint of caramel saltiness. It didn’t melt as well as I had hoped, but it still added a nice flavor to my coffee. I’ll also be using it on frozen yogurt and coconut milk ice cream this summer for sure.

icedlatte

Next up, I’d like to try this iced coffee, flavored with a bit of vanilla and brown sugar.

I also plan to make some homemade sweetened condensed coconut milk to try as a creamy, indulgent (and even semi-healthy!) latte sweetener. ;)

I think the next step of my coffee adventuring will be to find a better coffee pot (possibly a French Press) and try different grounds to settle on my favorite. I think my iced latte above would have been much better with a dark roast coffee (I used a hazelnut light roast).

What’s your favorite coffee recipe? Do you make iced coffees in the summertime?

4 thoughts on “Adventures in Homemade Lattes

  1. hooleywithaz says:

    my milk frother is such a happy item in my kitchen…homemade lattes make me feel like i’ve really accomplished something! amazing what a difference something so small can make in your mood.

  2. erin m. says:

    mmm. iced coffee is my jam and i will have to try this homemade recipe you’ve shared! i’ve always thought about making coffee ice cubes but never have … maybe now will be the time!

  3. Beth @ The Goad Abode says:

    Yum! That looks divine! I need a frother for my homemade iced lattes :) I’ve been going to easy route and buy Silk mocha latte and it’s pretty good. I can’t wait to drink real (non decaf) lattes after this baby arrives :)

Leave a Reply

