10 Years of Pumpkin Spice Lattes

autumnlove

This fall, Starbucks is celebrating 10 years of the Pumpkin Spice Latte. With the reflective heart I have, I just couldn’t resist thinking back to where I was in life when the Pumpkin Spice Latte first arrived with the crisp fall air.

psl

Ten years ago, I was a sophomore in college, turning twenty, and chasing dreams. I was proofreading at my college newspaper, reading page after page late into the night, surrounded by words and creativity and other people who shared the same passions.

I remembering feeling like I had found where I belonged.

I was also at the very beginning stages of a new relationship, that delicate place of curiosity and hope and possibility. You know the one… when you stay up way too late talking, sitting in the cool autumn air, because you just can’t imagine the conversation ever ending, and you want to know as much as you can about this person who just seems to understand you in a way no one else has before.

Over the years, the pumpkin spice latte has found its way into so many of my fall memories.

There was the year I’d moved away for my first post-college job, and I was back home to visit. My little sister and I spent an entire afternoon drinking Pumpkin Spice Lattes. We laughed and talked, sitting at a table outside in the sunshine, and I think it was perhaps one of the first times the age gap between us didn’t seem so far, and I began to realize that a beautiful friendship was taking shape.

Another year, I enjoyed my favorite fall drink in a more quiet way, sitting in the park with a stack of books and my journal, thinking about new starts and new dreams and where I wanted to go next.

And then, just yesterday, I started the morning with one, as I sat down with a designer friend of mine to bring my eBook words to life. There couldn’t have been a better choice, because now, each time I enjoy a Pumpkin Spice Latte, that will be another memory that rushes back to my mind — the memory of creative collaboration and inspiration, seeing a dream go from black-and-white ideas to colorful reality before my eyes.

This fall is also the fall I turn 30, the fall I leave my twenties behind.

And even though it’s been 10 years, I’m still the girl who is chasing dreams, discovering where she belongs, and surrounding herself with people of passion. I’m still the girl who sees fall as a time for newness and possibility — a time for unexpected blessings that take us to beautiful new places in the stories we’re living.

Leave a Reply

