Hello, 30! (A 1920s-Inspired Celebration)

foilwallwithlight cake2

I was blessed to spend Saturday celebrating with friends and family at an early 30th birthday party. It was quite the event! ;) We enjoyed lots of good food and plenty of delicious desserts (including a raspberry-filled cake with polka-dot candles!), great music,  much laughter, and maybe even a little dancing!

Everyone dressed up in their best twenties attire, too. I wore this dress from Ruche, my grandmother’s pearls, and a glittery headband and flower hair piece. I also carried one of my favorite vintage clutches (metallic gold with a bow on the front) — an amazing garage sale find from my college days. My shoes were even dolled up for the occasion (I added gold glitter to the heels using gel medium).

IMG_3100

family

It meant so much to me to be surrounded by the people who mean the most to me, friends and family who share life with me and know where I’ve been and where I hope to go. People who know my heart and my dreams and who encourage me to be the best version of me that I can be.

flowersandnapkins

tabledecor

The decorations were amazing, too: beautiful flowers, polka dots, touches of glitter, and lots of sparkling votives. My friends did an amazing job capturing the glitter and glam of the twenties and creating the perfect party atmosphere.

sistersphotobooth

And the photo booth I dreamed up with my sister was an absolute blast. If you ask me, a party isn’t a party without a little silliness — and a great deal of picture-taking. ;)

outtake

(Ha! Outtake!!)

It was truly a special evening, and it was the perfect way to begin a new chapter and season of my life.  Here’s to new chapters, seasons, and adventures! I can’t wait to see what my 30th year holds.

P.S. In the next few weeks, I’ll be sharing a recap of my 29 Things and sharing my new 30 Things list.

xo

20 thoughts on “Hello, 30! (A 1920s-Inspired Celebration)

  1. Sarah (theGIRL) says:

    Cute, cute party! Love the shoes. :) I did 29 things the year before i turned 30, too. Loved it. Happy birthday!

  2. Bridgette says:

    I just wanted to thank you for sharing your thoughts on your blog. I found your blog during a rough season of my life and reading your blog reminded me that I need to dream and have fun. Thank you for putting yourself out there, I appreciate it.

  3. Carrie says:

    What a wonderful party! I love this idea. And the 1920s is my favorite era.

    I want to thank you for your blog. Checking it is a bright spot in my day. It’s inspiring me to be more visual-minded (my medium is usually words).

    God bless you. And God cheer you the way you cheer your readers!

  4. Yelena says:

    Happy belated birthday! Looks like your party was quite perfect – love the theme, decorations and you look so happy (the most important part!). :)

  5. Jessi says:

    Oh me oh my, what a lovely affair! Themed parties, especially a retro, decade-themed party, are my FAVE. And a very Happy Birthday!! Welcome to the best decade ever {yet, lol}! xoxo

  6. grevabur says:

    Haha loved the party and your blog! I’m also turning 30 in a couple months! Be sure to check out my blog! I’m new at it, so would very much like your feedback!
    grevabur.wordpress.com

  7. Rachel G says:

    This birthday party looks like it was AWESOME!!! I think I sat at the breakfast table with you an Influence, wanted to stop by and say hi….now I know what cool birthday parties you have….

Leave a Reply

