Belief is heart language.

hearts

Many years ago, when I was newly blogging and newly walking with the Lord, I read Lauren F. Winner’s book Girl Meets God.

I especially loved the chapter about belief, titled Credo. There’s a section of that chapter where Winner quotes a passage from Diana Eck’s Encountering God, explaining that the Latin credo literally means I give my heart. 

I was so moved by the idea that belief is heart language.

All those years ago, I wrote these words about it: I love the idea that belief is heart language, that when you truly commit to a relationship with God, your faith is rooted in a love so strong that you give your heart to it.

Friends, as we begin this 31 day journey about big belief, let’s check our hearts. Let’s search them for areas of unbelief that we can uncover and surrender to Him, as we take this journey together.

Today, I’m going to spend time in my journal listing out the areas in my heart where I cling to lies and unbelief. I encourage you to do the same. With His guidance, we’ll tackle those unbeliefs together in the days ahead.

::For the month of October, I’m participating in The Nester’s #31Days blog writing challenge. My topic? Big BELIEF. For the next 31 days, I’ll be writing three main things: 1. BELIEVING in His good plan for my life, 2. BELIEVING in the dreams He’s placed on my heart, and 3. BELIEVING in who He is and what He promises. So, what do you say? Will you join me? Will you open your heart to Him and allow Him to grow your belief over these next 31 days? You can read all my #31Days posts, here.::

4 thoughts on “Belief is heart language.

  1. Em says:

    I am journaling along with you here :)
    Believing he is going to show us all big life changing things as we seek and believe more!
    Excited!

  2. meg says:

    i am at a point in my life where some things have rocked my world…. and now i have a creativity unlike any other and its coming out in my writing.. i believe He has a great plan… i dont want to get a head of myself i just want to take the right steps in His name and be confident and not stand behind my shadows of insecurity. and the three words that have been coming to my mind is, FOR HIS GLORY…. now, i am writing on gripping his glory over the next #31days and holding him tightly. look forward to reading more! ( @megromeo twitter and insta )

  3. Hunt FOR Truth says:

    “Today, I’m going to spend time in my journal listing out the areas in my heart where I cling to lies and unbelief.”
    This is the spirit of repentance and healing that is essential for finding happiness in so complex a world.
    Thanks for taking this challenge.
    – Eric

Leave a Reply

