A New Season: Thoughts on Turning 30 & Believing in His Plan

IMG_8147

Perspective is everything, isn’t it?

I’ve gone back and forth between feeling excited for a new decade and feeling discouraged about certain areas of my life that don’t look the way I thought they would by the time I reached the big 3-0.

As I mentioned in yesterday’s #31Days post, my singleness is one of the areas I struggle with most. Waiting for the Lord to come through in this area is difficult, and the truth is I’ve doubted Him. A lot.

But one of the things I’m learning in the midst of the waiting is that it often comes back to perspective and choosing the way you want to view your life.

I’ve decided I want to choose to see the story He’s writing for my life with excitement, hope, and BELIEF.

Because the truth is I don’t believe God places desires in our hearts only to leave them unfullfilled. While the timing and the way in which He fulfills those desires might look different than we imagined — or even hoped — I do believe He comes through in His perfect way and in His perfect time.

How’s your heart and your belief when it comes to trusting in His plan for your life?

::For the month of October, I’m participating in The Nester’s #31Days blog writing challenge. My topic? Big BELIEF. For the next 31 days, I’ll be writing about three main things: 1. BELIEVING in His good plan for my life, 2. BELIEVING in the dreams He’s placed on my heart, and 3. BELIEVING in who He is and what He promises. So, what do you say? Will you join me? Will you open your heart to Him and allow Him to grow your belief over these next 31 days? You can read all my #31Days posts, here.::

 

 

10 thoughts on “A New Season: Thoughts on Turning 30 & Believing in His Plan

  1. leelee says:

    Yes, He gives us desires that are meant to be filled in their perfect time, by Him alone. While your head can say this a thousand times, it still gets frustrating as you wait. I am learning that it is okay to feel frustrated at God sometimes.

  2. Eva Marie says:

    Love this: “Because the truth is I don’t believe God places desires in our hearts only to leave them unfullfilled.” I always pray for The Lord to take my desires away and give me new desires if its not His plan. His timing is always perfect and you’re right in that He fulfills our desire in His perfect way. Praying for you in this period of waiting!

  3. Kasia says:

    Thanks for posting this! I turned 30 this year too. My #31Days is sort of similar to yours! I’m a food blogger so I’m doing a “Food for Thought” series writing about manageable kitchen tips for half and the journey of believing God loves me. One of the areas I struggle with unbelief the most, that I know is a lie straight from Satan, is struggling to believe God loves me even though He still hasn’t fulfilled the desire to be married. So it’s super encouraging to see someone else feels the same and to hear from someone else in the same boat that they are choosing to believe God is bigger than our unbelief!

  4. Nikki DeMarco says:

    Girl, I totally feel you in this area. As you heard a little bit at Influence, my life got turned upside down this year. I didn’t think I’d have to be starting over, I thought I’d be starting a family. But I’m trusting, trusting, trusting that God has a good plan for me.

  5. Katie @ A Place to Dwell says:

    Thanks, @Eva Marie! :) I pray that, as well, and I believe that when we are faithfully seeking Him and listening for His voice, He is faithful to change our hearts or give us new desires that match His.

  6. Katie @ A Place to Dwell says:

    Hi, Kasia,

    I’m so glad you were able to find some encouragement in this post. Yes, God is bigger than our unbelief, and thank goodness! :) I’m so glad He is constant and faithful no matter how we are feeling. I’m blessed to connect with you and share our stories. We can encourage each other during this season! Looking forward to checking out your series! :)

  7. Katie @ A Place to Dwell says:

    @Nikki, Thanks for sharing your story with me at Influence. It was so good to meet you and talk. I’m believing God has a good plan for us both — better than we could have imagined. Thanks for reading, friend. :)

  8. celikagirl says:

    I have a hard time with my singleness also, I am 32 years old and while I have had several relationships throughout my twenties I still haven’t met my mate. I have been single for awhile now and I don’t understand why and I question that alot, but I also know that God has me right where I am supposed to be and I am embracing that with everything I have!

  9. runwpatience says:

    I also turned 30 this year and my singleness is a huge area of unbelief, doubt and struggle. I’m excited about your big belief blog series. Thank you!! May God be your strength and comfort always.

Leave a Reply

