Building My Belief: Part 1

IMG_6213

The thought of surrendering is certainly appealing — letting go of each and every worry and doubt, trusting Him to do the ordering. I know He can and wants to do this, but believing it deep in my heart of hearts is more difficult. Worry and doubt always seem to creep in.

I wrote these words right here on the blog four Octobers ago, when I was living out a pretty uncertain season of life.

That fall, I was praying to find a job, after being laid off and moving back home. It was one of those incredibly in-between seasons, where nothing seems sure. There were days I so desperately wanted to see the next chapter, to know where I was headed and what I’d be doing. But the slowness and uncertainty meant I had to cling to Him in ways I never had before.

During that season, I remember loving this quote by Margaret Drabble: When nothing is sure, everything is possible.”

But let’s back up a little bit.

Before I lost my job, I was living in the city I’d moved to right after college, a city I moved to without knowing anyone. Years later, I’m able to see how God used that city and that season to help me uncover who I really was, the things that moved and inspired me, and even more than that — He used that season to show me who HE really was.

Looking back, I think that’s where He built the foundation of my faith.

I’ll never forget the way it felt to get to know who He was and who He’d created me to be.

He had begun to build my belief.

…I’ll continue with the story tomorrow.
::For the month of October, I’m participating in The Nester’s #31Days blog writing challenge. My topic? Big BELIEF. For the next 31 days, I’ll be writing about three main things: 1. BELIEVING in His good plan for my life, 2. BELIEVING in the dreams He’s placed on my heart, and 3. BELIEVING in who He is and what He promises. So, what do you say? Will you join me? Will you open your heart to Him and allow Him to grow your belief over these next 31 days? You can read all my #31Days posts, here.::

One thought on “Building My Belief: Part 1

Leave a Reply

