We aren’t meant to believe alone.

Image

I’ve been thinking a lot about the importance of community, of being vulnerable, transparent, and really doing life with people.

When we’re in community, our belief can grow. It can be strengthened and nurtured and sharpened. Big dreams can be born out of solid community, and real change can occur.

Jon Acuff says that fear hates community. And as Lara Casey says, to name our fears is to destroy them. So, when we share our lives and our hearts with people we trust, intentionally creating community, we are destroying fears and encouraging fruitfulness.

It isn’t easy to create this kind of community. It takes risk and bravery and intentionality. It takes time and commitment and faithfulness. True community isn’t born overnight. It happens over many cups of coffee and text messages, over dinners, lunches, and brunches. It happens when we invite people into the messy parts of our lives, and they love us all the same. It happens when we pray, serve, and check in. When we learn how to speak truth in love, and when we learn how to receive hard truths with grace. It happens when we create safe places for people to grow and learn and just be.

KtandKam

JenandKatie

orchard

Even though it’s hard to come by, and even harder to build, we have to fight for this kind of community. We have to make it a priority to fill our lives with people who build us up, challenge us, and walk beside us. We have to make it a priority to invest in others and allow them to invest in us.

IMG_6632

Because eventually, these are the people who know our stories — the good and the bad. The people who can see the potential we carry inside — and who will push us to never stop growing. These are the people who will celebrate with us, cry with us, and act silly with us. The people who believe in our hopes and our dreams — even when we don’t.

These are the people who teach us how to love better and believe bigger.

 

::For the month of October, I’m participating in The Nester’s #31Days blog writing challenge. My topic? Big BELIEF. For the next 31 days, I’ll be writing about three main things: 1. BELIEVING in His good plan for my life, 2. BELIEVING in the dreams He’s placed on my heart, and 3.BELIEVING in who He is and what He promises. So, what do you say? Will you join me? Will you open your heart to Him and allow Him to grow your belief over these next 31 days? You can read all my #31Days posts,here.::

 
3 thoughts on “We aren’t meant to believe alone.

  1. Elle says:

    AH, this is so good. I am right there with you. I am a firm believer in community!! After all, God is a Trinitarian God, living in community among the Father, Son, and Holy Spirit . . . so we, as His image-bearers, are called to do the same! He is a God with a voice. He spoke creation with His word. He spoke calm over the raging sea with His word . . . so we, as His image-bearers, should also be vocal within a trusted community. I have experiences so much redemption and freedom from the enemy’s lies and the biggest vehicle God used for this transformation really, truly was community. Because I had hidden behind my own shame for so long, I believed the enemy’s lies that if anyone knew the true me, they would not love me. But when I was in Jesus-loving community and finally shared my story, the overwhelming response was one of the most amazing things I have ever experienced. The compassion they clothed me with when I felt naked in my vulnerability was such a beautiful picture of God’s redemptive love over my whole story, not just the pretty parts, but the messy ones too. Sorry to ramble, I just LOVE this topic and you did a WONDERFUL capturing the importance of community.

Leave a Reply

