How has He shaped your heart?

dreams

I was talking with a sweet friend over the weekend, and we landed on the subject of dating. At one point during the conversation, I said I had hopes to marry a man who would dream with me. For whatever reason, I said that was something I really hoped I could share with my future husband — dreaming for the Lord together and pursuing those dreams together.

I felt silly sharing that, I said, but she firmly encouraged me, saying God placed that unique desire in my heart. I could be confident in it and confident in Him to fulfill it. She said He has purposefully given us all different hopes and dreams (for example, some dream and hope of finding someone who shares the same passion for overseas ministry). Listening to her words stirred up my gratitude for the unique shape of the hopes in my own heart.

God has shaped all of our hearts differently, and not only does He gift each one of us with our own unique talents, hopes, and dreams, He also orchestrates beautiful relationships and community throughout our lives that helps us grow and use those gifts and dreams to serve Him. (From Him the whole body, joined and held together by every supporting ligament, grows and builds itself up in love, as each part does its work. Eph. 4:16)

Why should my future marriage be any different?

Sometimes, I struggle with whether something is from me or from the Lord. I doubt my own hopes and dreams and fear attributing them to Him. But in listening to my friend, I realized I want to become more confident in believing what He is putting in my heart. And not only do I want to feel more confident in those hopes, I also want to pray over them, daily returning them to Him for safekeeping until He either fulfills them in His own perfect way, or in time, reshapes them, molding them into something new for His glory.

Part of that process means recognizing He made me a dreamer — and an encourager of dreams. It’s woven into who I am. I don’t want to be too shy to embrace the unique parts of myself and live them out with confident belief that He made me to love and do those things. It also means I’m not afraid to continue to hope that my future husband wants to dream for the Lord with me. Who knows, there might even be a man out there who is praying over the same things… ;)

How has He shaped your heart? And how are you using those beautifully unique aspects of yourself fully and for His glory?

::image::

 

::For the month of October, I’m participating in The Nester’s #31Days blog writing challenge. My topic? Big BELIEF. For the next 31 days, I’ll be writing about three main things: 1. BELIEVING in His good plan for my life, 2. BELIEVING in the dreams He’s placed on my heart, and 3.BELIEVING in who He is and what He promises. So, what do you say? Will you join me? Will you open your heart to Him and allow Him to grow your belief over these next 31 days? You can read all my #31Days posts,here.::

 
Leave a Reply

