A Year of Going Further (2013 OLW Recap)

farther

At the end of a year, it’s really easy to look at where you’re NOT, what you DIDN’T accomplish, and what you WISH had happened, rather than all the goodness of where you ARE, how far you’ve come, and everything you DID accomplish.

As I get ready to begin the new year, and I reflect on all I experienced this past year, I’m choosing to look with joy and gratitude on all of the experiences that led me to where I am today.

I am truly thankful for all I did and learned in 2013. What a year of being brave, taking risks, and chasing dreams!

Part of reflecting on this past year for me is remembering where I was last January, when I chose to live 2013 with the word FURTHER in mind. Here’s what I had to say about choosing that word:

I want to take everything I learned in 2012 about keeping an open heart and moving FORWARD with hope, and I want to go FURTHER.

*I want to go FURTHER in my faith. I want to know Him more, trust Him more, hope in Him more.

*I want to go FURTHER in my art. I want to write more. Create more. Set up an Etsy shop. Use the gifts He’s given me to bless others and inspire joy in Him.

*And I want to grow FURTHER…keeping my heart open to His plan each and every day, going where He’s leading, and trusting Him every step of the way.

When I look back at everything that happened in 2013, both the blessings and the moments that challenged and pruned me, I can truly see that the Lord took me FURTHER in so many ways.

At the beginning of last year, I also participated in Lara Casey’s Making Things Happen Goal Setting process. I wrote this vision for my year, along with six goals that supported it. (You can read a fall update on all of those goals, here.)

MY VISION FOR 2013: Inspired, encouraging, balanced, intentional, going further with an open heart. I will embrace my story and my season, living fearlessly, fully, and creatively. I will abide in Him and dream with Him, using my God-given gifts and passions to pursue what He’s laid on my heart. I will pray boldly, trusting His guidance. I desire to see a fruitful harvest in my life that glorifies Him and blesses others. My vision for 2013 is to be more of the woman He created me to be —inspiring, encouraging, and spurring on the people He puts in my life. My vision for 2013 is to bear His fruit in my writing, in my artwork, and in my relationships with others.

I just love rereading that vision, because I know it’s something the Lord placed on my heart, and I can see so clearly that it’s a vision He helped me live out each day of this past year.

Today, I am delighting in every sweet memory made in 2013, and I’m giving thanks for all the ways He helped me embrace my story and my season — and all the ways He equipped me to live fearlessly, fully, and creatively for Him.

What 2013 moments are you most thankful for?

Let’s rejoice together, as we get ready to start a brand new year of dreaming big and living fully for Him!

2 thoughts on “A Year of Going Further (2013 OLW Recap)

Leave a Reply

