My 2014 Goals

2014 Goals

If you’ve been following along this week, you know I’ve been working through my Powersheets and Lara Casey’s 2014 Goal-Setting Series.

Today, I’m excited to finally share the five goals I’ve set for the year ahead!

I love that Lara’s process is slow and reflective and intentional. It took TIME to get to the goals below, and they’re goals that support my vision and what matters most to me.

  1. Make space for God to move. I want to seek first the Kingdom daily, with a heart that longs to hear Him and go where He leads. I’m going to be going through a praise and wisdom reading plan in my One Year Bible that will take me through Proverbs once during the year and the Psalms twice. I want to have my eyes and heart open to the possibilities He has for me each and every day.
  2. Invest my time and heart into building an encouraging creative community that blesses others and brings God glory both online and offline. I’ve already started this goal online by launching a book club to discuss the eBook I wrote last year called An Inspired Life. I also have it on my heart to really invest in my local art community this year. I’m not sure of the particulars of this one just yet, but I can’t wait to see how God moves in this area. I also want to have many productive, inspiring creative collaborations in 2014. Working with other creatives is a huge passion of mine, and I look forward to doing this as much as I can in 2014.
  3. Live a full and inspired life in 2014 — and encourage others to do the same. This one encompasses so much — eating fresh, healthy foods, practicing holy yoga, joining a gym, spending quality time with my friends and family, etc. This goal is also about living the kind of life I imagine for myself, the kind of life that makes me feel like ME. I want to live surrounded by art, inspiration, and color. I want to make art regularly and read good books. I want to explore my city and celebrate life and my own unique story, a story that is a gift from God. And I want to find new ways to encourage others to do this, too — whether it’s through my blog and online outlets, discipleship at my church, or just a simple handwritten card or note that blesses and encourages someone God puts on my heart.
  4. Date intentionally — with courage and with hope. I will keep praying this simple prayer and trusting God to take care of the details.
  5. Explore new possibilities. One of the new possibilities I’m excited to explore in the new year is hand lettering/typography. I want to take classes, go through the Spencerian script workbooks, etc. I’m also planning on hand lettering a phrase a week and posting it to Instagram, Twitter, etc. Who knows what other possibilities I’ll explore in the year ahead, but I can’t wait to prayerfully wait before the Lord to see what He puts on my heart to pursue.

inspire others

Have you set your 2014 goals yet? I’d love to hear about them and the process you used to set them.

P.S. Have you signed up for my An Inspired Life book club yet? It’s a great companion to goal-setting and dreaming for the new year.

8 thoughts on “My 2014 Goals

  1. Amy E Patton says:

    I love your goals. I can see you accomplishing each one because they reflect the core of you so well. I have been busy writing my goals as well. I plan on writing about each one on my blog this month to help keep them at the forefront of my mind. Happy New Year!

  2. alicia says:

    I love your goals as well! I’m going to be doing 1, 3, 4 and possibly 5 as well along with some of my own goals for 2014 :0

  3. Hannah says:

    Beautiful goals, Katie! I published my #2014GoalSetting process on my blog this morning. Super excited for the coming year! Blessings to you on this Sunday! <3

  4. Kelsey @ Pinegate Road says:

    Girl, I want to help with number 2! It’s not part of my goals exactly, but it does fit in to my goal to edit down to activities that matter. We should have brainstorm lunch soon :) Happy 2014!

Leave a Reply

