After The Goals Have Been Set…

2014

A few days ago, I posted my 2014 vision statement and goals. I just love the goal and vision-setting process, but after the goals are done, where to begin, right?

I highly, highly recommend purchasing a set of Lara Casey’s PowerSheets. Last night, I started working through her action-planning sheets for each of my five goals. I will soon be filling out weekly and monthly tending sheets, as well. (The perfectionist in me wants to rush through this process, because, goodness, we are already a week into January, and I need to get planning for this month!) But one thing I’ve learned from Lara is that great things happen little by little.

Small steps. Small changes. Faith as small as a mustard seed.

Last night, as I was working, I started to feel I was rushing, quickly writing things down, in order to make it to the tending sheets, but then I closed my binder and just decided I was going to take the rest of this week and weekend to prayerfully make my way through the rest of my action-planning and brainstorming. I don’t want a meaningless to-list full of meaningless action items. I want a list that brings God glory and truly makes a difference in my life and others’ lives.

So, I guess the answer to this post’s question of where to begin after you’ve set your goals is actually pretty simple:

Prayerful planning that leads to small steps and small changes…And faith as small as a mustard seed that God will move in BIG WAYS.

P.S. I’m getting excited to prep for the book club I’m kicking off next month.

If you need a little extra inspiration to live fully and pursue the vision you’ve set for your year, I encourage you to sign up to be a part of it.

7 thoughts on “After The Goals Have Been Set…

  1. Hannah says:

    I love your words, Katie. I always feel the same way – like I have to just “go, go, go” and “do, do, do” once I have my big aspirations set and plans listed. Life as a perfectionist can be draining at times, can’t it? The Lord has directed me to Psalm 23 several times over the past few days and it’s been very calming. Soaking in this over the next few days and receiving His rest, grace, and peace might be helpful! (I’ll be doing this for sure!) Blessings! <3

  2. Elle says:

    I’ve been prayerfully going through Lara Casey’s series as well and it’s such a blessing to me! But I am right there with you: I want to rush through the lists and get crackin’ on all the goals. However, God is lovingly teaching me that there is meaning to the “intermissions” of life and waiting does not mean passivity. I am slowly going through the series because I want it to stick through the whole year rather than quickly set goals that I can never meet or goals that are me-focused rather than others-focused. “Progress, not perfection” is my key phrase lately!

  3. Whitney Conard says:

    love this – you can’t rush good things. just like anything in life. :) i gave myself all of january to work through the power sheets, and i’m so glad i’m not pressuring myself to just fill in the blanks but instead praying over what God wants me to focus on and make my goal. it’s worth it!

Leave a Reply

