My 2013 One Little Word

For a while, I was thinking about choosing OPEN for my 2013 One Little Word. Last year, I focused a lot on the idea of keeping an OPEN heart. And this morning, I saw that Ali has chosen that word for 2013. I loved what she had to say about it, too, and I love her open heart necklace.

But, as I’ve been considering different words for the last few weeks, the same word just keeps coming to mind. And I think even though I love the idea of continuing to focus on keeping an open heart, this other word just might be exactly what I need in 2013.

farther

So, the word I’ve finally chosen for my 2013 One Little Word is FURTHER. I don’t particularly like the way the word looks (or designing with it), but I DO like what FURTHER stands for and what it means — and could mean — for me in this season.

I want to take everything I learned in 2012 about keeping an open heart and moving FORWARD with hope, and I want to go FURTHER.

*I want to go FURTHER in my faith. I want to know Him more, trust Him more, hope in Him more.

*I want to go FURTHER in my art. I want to write more. Create more. Set up an Etsy shop. Use the gifts He’s given me to bless others and inspire joy in Him.

*And I want to grow FURTHER…keeping my heart open to His plan each and every day, going where He’s leading, and trusting Him every step of the way.

Here are my previous One Little Words (with snippets from those posts):

2012 – FORWARD

I think the word forward takes everything I experienced in 2011, and pushes me even further. As Holly wrote in her post, the word forward is about “not regretting anything that has happened in the last year and moving forward with new opportunities, new projects, and new goals.”

I love that—because there are certainly some things in 2011 that didn’t go as I planned or hoped they might. But that’s the way life works sometimes, isn’t it? We live as bravely as we can, taking risks, seeking God, and then we wait to see how it all will unfold, according to His perfect plan. Like it says in Proverbs 16:9: In their hearts, humans plan their course, but the Lord establishes their steps.

I’m looking forward to all 2012 holds. There are so many hopes I’m holding close to my heart, hopes that I’ve given to the Lord, so He can establish my steps, according to His will.

2011 – EXPERIENCE

I think it’s a great word that sums up how I want to live and experience life in 2011. I want to be present in every moment, discover new things, and seek out new experiences and adventures. I want to learn and grow from each new experience and continue to be shaped into the woman He wants me to become.

* * *

Did you choose a word for 2013? If so, I’d love to hear all about it. Connect with me in the comments below, or on Facebook or Twitter.

15 thoughts on “My 2013 One Little Word

  1. clbills says:

    Thanks so much hope you don’t mind me mentioning your blog on mine as inspiring me to start a word for 2013. Mine is trust!

  2. Jordan says:

    hi! my word for 2013 is discover!

    i hope to discover a stronger sense of self. i hope to discover study habits that work better for me. i hope to discover my aesthetic as an artist. i hope to discover smaller moments that help define my happiness. i hope to discover a way to cultivate kindness and optimism. i hope to continue to discover new ways to navigate grief. i hope to discover how to budget my money a little better. stay more organized. cook more frequently. make my bed more than twice a week. i hope i discover how to make each day a little better. i hope to discover a new place to grow my faith. i hope to continue to discover the joys of being single while strengthening my individuality. i hope to discover a sense of faith in the face of my fears. i hope to face some of my fears. i hope to discover new relationships. new adventures. new dreams. new lessons. most importantly, i hope to discover a way to show kindness to everyone, but especially to those that don’t deserve it.

  3. K says:

    Love that, Christy. And I love your heart and mission to bring healing and wholeness to others in 2013. I’m so excited for this fresh new year — can’t wait to see where He leads us both, sweet friend. xo

  4. K says:

    Hi, Jordan! Love your word and everything you had to say about it. Such an awesome list! I especially loved “I hope to discover a sense of faith in the face of my fears.” It will be awesome to see the discoveries the Lord has in store for you in 2013. God bless! :)

  5. em says:

    Loveyour word. This is my first year on OLW and I am working with TRY. I need to remind myself more that if you don’t try you’ll never know. x

  6. K says:

    Hi, Em! Love your word. So true that we never know until we take a risk and try! Wishing you many blessings + adventures in 2013. Thanks for reading! :)

  7. sarahstaebler says:

    Hi there! This is my first time doing the project, and my word for this year is happy. Kind of fitting for today, as everyone is wishing each other a happy new year! For me, it will be so much more as I focus on that word this year! I’m excited!

    Further is a great word. I wish you many great things for 2013!

  8. K says:

    Hi, Sarah! Thanks for reading! Love your word, and I’m excited to follow along with you this year, as you focus on your word. I’ve chosen a word the last few years, and I truly enjoy doing so. Wishing you lots of blessings in 2013! :)

  9. Allison says:

    I sort of wish I thought of this word… it is perfect and it does embody so much. I just found you through the tell your story link up over on The Hollie Rogue and I am glad I stopped by. Lovely blog. I am still thinking on my word.. I have it narrowed down to a few but am trying to decide. I may end up picking 2 though if I can’t decide.

  10. K says:

    Thanks, Allison! Funny thing is I didn’t really want to settle on Further, but the word just kept coming to mind. I think it sort of picked me! But I suppose those end up being the best words, because The Lord places them in our hearts.;) I’m glad you found me. I’ll have to stop by your blog, as well. I love getting connected with new bloggers through the link-ups! Looking forward to hearing what word you settle on, too. Have a great day!

Leave a comment